The ASCAP Foundation Names Recipients of 2021 Morton Gould Young Composer Awards

May 14, 2021

NEW YORK, May 14, 2021 --  The ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams today announced the recipients of the 2021 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards, which encourage talented young creators of concert music ranging in age from 13 to 30.


"The young composers recognized by The ASCAP Foundation are taking concert music in new and exciting directions," said Williams. "They are the future of the genre and it gives us great pleasure to support and empower them to further their talents. We extend our thanks to our panel of ASCAP composers that selected this year's recipients."


The 2021 Morton Gould Young Composer Award recipients are listed below with their current residence, and place of origin. Recipients under the age of 18 are listed by state of residence:  Alex Berko of Houston, TX (Solon, OH); Paul Berlinsky of Kansas City, MO (North Miami Beach, FL); Alistair Coleman of Philadelphia, PA (Washington, D.C.); Julián Fueyo of New Haven, CT (Tampico, Mexico); Brittany Green of Durham, NC (Raleigh, NC); Moni Guo of Los Angeles, CA (Taiyuan, Shanxi, China); Patrick Holcomb of Ocean View, DE (Fairfax, VA); Soomin Kim of New Haven, CT (Uijeongbu, South Korea); Chelsea Komschlies of Montreal, Canada (Appleton, WI); Piyawat Louilarpprasert of Ithaca, NY (Bangkok, Thailand); Wenbin Lyu of Cincinnati, OH ( Liaoning, China); Jorge Machain of Henderson, NV (Lazaro Cardenas, Mexico); Christopher O’Brien of Pacific Palisades, CA (Los Angeles, CA); Marco-Adrián  Ramos of Gravette, AR (Springdale, AR); Ben Robichaux of Thibodaux, LA; Ari Sussman of Ann Arbor, MI (Elkins Park, PA); Siqi Wang of Kansas City, MO (Henan Province, China); Emily Webster-Zuber of Los Angeles,CA; Brady Wolff of Lake Winnebago, MO (Kansas City, MO); Elizabeth Younan of Sydney, Australia and Hao Zou of Kansas City, MO (Huaibei, Anhui, China).


The following composers received Honorable Mention and are listed below with their current residence, and place of origin. Recipients under the age of 18 are listed by state of residenceHannah Barnes of Chicago, IL (Geneva, IL); Olivia Bennett of Houston, TX (Springfield, MO); Luke Blackburn of Seattle, WA (Ocala, FL);  Lucy Chen of MD; Emily DeNucci of Somers, CT (Springfield, MA); Joe Jaxson of Staunton, VA (New York, NY); Marco Jiminez of St. Petersburg, FL (Miami, FL); Quinn Mason of Dallas, TX; Sophie Mathieu of Austin, TX (Bedford, TX); Celka Ojakangas of  Los Angeles, CA (Springfield, MO); Luca Pasquini of CO; Yash Pazhianur of NJ; Aaron S. Ricucci - Hill of Kansas City, MO (Troy, MO); Daniel Sabzghabei of Ithaca, NY (Denton, TX); Winston Schneider of NE, Sami Seif of Cleveland, OH (Keserwan, Lebanon) and Danae Venson of Houston, TX (Austin, TX).




The 2021 Morton Gould Young Composer Awards composers/judges were: Chen Yi, Anthony Cheung, Jonathan Bailey Holland, Caroline Mallonee, James Matheson, Matt Van Brink and Dalit Warshaw.  


Established as The ASCAP Foundation Young Composer Awards in 1979 with funding from The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth Fund, the program grants cash prizes to concert music composers up to 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition.  These composers may be American citizens, permanent residents or students possessing U.S. student visas.


In addition to The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth Fund, The ASCAP Foundation Irving Caesar Fund also provides financing for the Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. Caesar was best known as the lyricist of “Tea for Two” and “Swanee,” while Jack Norworth wrote such standards as "Shine On Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame." 


Paul Berlinsky was recognized by the panel with the 2021 Leo Kaplan Award created in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor. The award is funded by the Kaplan Family.


The annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to Pulitzer Prize-winning composer Morton Gould’s memory following his death in 1996 to honor his lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators.  A child prodigy himself, Gould’s first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. Gould served as President of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 – 1994.


About The ASCAP Foundation

Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers around the world.


# # #


Press Contact:

Cathy Nevins | ASCAP
cnevins (at)