The ASCAP Foundation Announces 2019 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award Recipients

March 11, 2019

New York, NY: The ASCAP Foundation is happy to have announced the recipients of the 2019 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards. The program was established in 2002 to encourage young gifted jazz composers up to the age of 30. It carries the name of the great trumpeter and ASCAP member Herb Alpert in recognition of The Herb Alpert Foundation’s multi-year financial commitment to support this program. The recipients, who received cash awards, ranged in age from 11 to 29, and were selected through a juried national competition.

The ASCAP Foundation President, Paul Williams said, “The young people selected as Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer recipients are among the most promising talents in jazz today. We congratulate them on their achievements and thank the Herb Alpert Foundation and our ASCAP composer judges for helping us to sustain the jazz art form by recognizing these aspiring music creators.”

The 2019 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award recipients are listed below with their age, current residence and place of origin. The youngest winners are listed with their age and state of residence: Eri Chichibu, age 26 of Boston, MA (Miyagi Japan); Eddie Codrington, age 22 of Kalamazoo, MI (Ann Arbor, MI); Shimon Gambourg, age 23 of Boston MA (Tel, Aviv, Israel); Ariel Sha Glassman, age 22 of Chicago, IL (Dublin, OH); Philip Ryan Goss, age 26 of Boston, MA (Winnetka, IL); Takumi Kakimoto, age 24 of Boston, MA (Himeji, Japan); Brian Krock, age 30 of Brooklyn, NY (Arlington Heights, IL); David Ling, age 29 of Allston, MA (Kuching, Malaysia); Martina Liviero, age 27 of Brooklyn, NY (Buenos Aires, Argentina); Ben Morris, age 26 of Chatham, NJ; Peyton Nelesen, age 11 California; Yu Nishiyama, age 24 of Prospect Park, NJ (Yokohama, Japan); Jueun Seok, age 26 of Allston, MA (Seoul, Korea); Sara Sithi-Amnuai, age 24 of Los Angeles, CA (Sydney, Australia); Elliott Turner, age 23 of Greely, CO (Tacoma, WA); Gregory Weis, age26ofGreeley, CO (St. Louis, MO); Alex Weitz, age 27 of Miami, FL (Tucson, AZ) and Matthew Whitaker, age 17 of New Jersey.

Composers who received Honorable Mention this year are: Samuel Boateng, age 29 of Pittsburgh, PA (Accra, Ghana); Thomas Call, age 27 of New York, NY (Bountiful, UT); Andrew Schiller, age 29 of Brooklyn, NY (Phoenix, AZ);and Yoko Suzuki, age 23 of Brookline, MA (Yokohama, Japan).

Newport Festival Foundations will feature one of the recipients of the Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards during the 2019 Newport Jazz Festival in August.

The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2019 competition were: Fabian Almazan, Erica Lindsay, and Nate Smith.

Additional funding for this program is provided by The ASCAP Foundation Bart Howard Fund.

About The Herb Alpert Foundation

The Herb Alpert Foundation, a non-profit, private foundation established in the early 1980's, makes significant annual contributions to a range of programs in the fields of Arts, Arts Education and Compassion and Well Being. Its funding is directed toward projects in which Herb and Lani Alpert and Foundation President Rona Sebastian play an active role. [The Foundation does not accept unsolicited proposals.]

About The ASCAP Foundation

Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education, talent development and humanitarian programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.


# # #

Press Contacts:

Cathy Nevins