Joss Favela and Farruko Named Songwriter and Songwriter/Artist of the Year at 26th Annual ASCAP Latin Music Awards; Gente de Zona Honored with ASCAP Golden Note Award and Eduardo Cabra AKA Visitante Presented with ASCAP Vanguard Award

March 7, 2018

Daddy Yankee, Justin Bieber, Jason “Poo Bear” Boyd Named Recipients of Latin Song of the Year Award for “Despacito”

WB Music Corp. Named Publisher of the Year; BMG Gold Songs Named Independent Publisher of the Year

NEW YORK, March 6, 2018:  Joss Favela was named Songwriter of the Year and Farruko Songwriter/Artist of the Year at the 26th annual ASCAP Latin Music Awards, celebrated tonight at The Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.  This is the third time that Favela has received the Latin Music Songwriter of the Year award and Farruko’s first win in that category. ASCAP President Paul Williams presented the Songwriter of the Year award to Joss Favela

ASCAP Executive Vice President, Membership, John Titta along with ASCAP Vice President, Latin, Gabriela Gonzalez presented the ASCAP Golden Note Award to acclaimed urban music duo Gente de Zona, comprised of Alexander Delgado and Randy Malcom Martinez, in recognition of their extraordinary career milestones. Eduardo Cabra aka VISITANTE and member of Calle 13 and Trending Tropics received the ASCAP Vanguard Award for his impact on new and developing musical genres that have shaped the future of music.  

The songwriters and publishers of ASCAP’s most performed songs in Latin Music in 2017 were also recognized during the invite-only awards ceremony.

ASCAP CEO Elizabeth Matthews presented the Publisher of the Year award to WB Music Corp., and ASCAP Board member and Songwriters Hall of Fame member Desmond Child bestowed the Independent Publisher of the Year to BMG Gold Songs. The Latin Song of the Year award was presented by ASCAP's Gabriela Gonzalez and ASCAP Board member, award-winning songwriter Rudy Pérez to the writers and publishers of “Despacito,” interpreted by Luis Fonsi, Daddy Yankee and Justin Bieber; written by Daddy Yankee, Justin Bieber and Jason “Poo Bear” Boyd and published by Bieber Time, BMG Gold Songs, Cangris Publishing, Hitco South, Poo B Z Publishing and Universal Corporation. 

SBS (Spanish Broadcasting System) radio personality Alex Sensation hosted the all-star gathering which featured performances and the participation of some of Latin music's hottest stars, including Andrés Castro, Carlos Marmo,  Chris Jeday, Danny Ocean, Daniel Santacruz & Manny Cruz, Edesio Alejandro, Ella Bric, El Fantasma (Alexander Garcia), Farruko, Feid, Fonseca, Grizel Del ValleJacob Forever, Jason "Poo Bear" Boyd, Jowell y Randy, Karol G, Leila Cobo, Lola Jane, Maluma, Manuel Medrano, Mosty, Omar Alfanno, Tommy Torres, Malu Trevejo, Ulices Chaidez, Vicente García and many more.

Awards were presented throughout the evening in the following categories: Pop, Tropical, Regional Mexican, Urban and Television. Read the full winners list here.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world's best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business - from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With more than 740,000 members representing more than 11.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. Learn more and stay in touch at, on Twitter and Instagram @ASCAP and on Facebook.

# # #

Media Contacts: 
Blanca Lassalle – Creativelink
(212) 684-6001

Cathy Nevins – ASCAP