The ASCAP Foundation Announces 2018 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award Recipients

January 18, 2018

Photo: Lani Hall and Herb Alpert

New York, NY, January 18, 2018: The ASCAP Foundation has announced the recipients of the 2018 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards. The program, established in 2002 to encourage young gifted jazz composers up to the age of 30, carries the name of the great trumpeter and ASCAP member Herb Alpert in recognition of The Herb Alpert Foundation’s multi-year financial commitment to the initiative. The recipients, who receive cash awards, range in age from 14 to 29 and are selected through a juried national competition.

The ASCAP Foundation President, Paul Williams, said: "It's always meaningful for me to announce the Herb Alpert Foundation Young Jazz Composer recipients as my musical journey began at Herb's own A&M Records. The Herb Alpert Foundation and The ASCAP Foundation share a vital commitment to fostering new talent, and we thank the Herb Alpert Foundation for its exceptional and continued support in recognizing these promising young jazz creators. We congratulate all of our award recipients on their well-deserved success, and are grateful to the ASCAP composers who put in an enormous amount of time and effort to select the winners."

The 2018 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award recipients are listed with their age, current residence and place of origin. The youngest winners are listed with their age and state of residence: Lucas Apostoleris, age 24 of Miami, FL (New Milford, CT); Mariel Austin, age 29 of Los Angeles, CA (Alameda County, CA); Benjamin Barson, age 29 of Pittsburgh, PA ( Brooklyn, NY); Enrico Bergamini, age 26 of Brooklyn, NY (Italy); Owen Broder, age 28 of New York, NY (Detroit, MI); Estar Cohen, age 25 of Ypsilanti, MI (Toledo, OH); Alexander Hurvitz, age 14 of California; Gene Knific, age 25 of Chicago, IL (Kalamazoo, MI); Sara McDonald, age 26 of Brooklyn, NY (Bethesda, MD); Zachary Rich, age 24 of Greeley, CO (Witchita, KS); Elijah Shiffer, age 26 of Brooklyn, NY (Mt. Vernon, NY); Billy Test, age 28 of Astoria, NY (Phillipsburg, PA); Garrett Wingfield, age 25 of Dallas, TX (Louisville, KY); Sam Wolsk, age 20, of Princeton, NJ (MA) and Drew Zaremba, age 26 of Denton, TX (Little Rock, AR). 

Composers receiving Honorable Mention this year are: Eddie Codrington, age 21 of Kalamazoo, MI (Ann Arbor, MI); Evan Hyde, age 28 of New York, NY (Grand Rapids, MI); Takumi Kakimoto, age 23 of Boston, MA (Japan); Ben Rosenblum, age 24 of New York, NY; Josh Shpak, age 24 of Boston, MA (Walnut Creek, CA); Katelyn Vincent, age 25 of Tempe, AZ (Laramie, WY) and Matthew Whitaker, age 16 of New Jersey.  

The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2018 competition were: Sylvie Courvoisier, Wycliffe Gordon and Sachal Vasandani

The Newport Festival Foundation will once again feature one of the Herb Alpert Award recipients during the 2018 Newport Jazz Festival in August.

Additional funding for this program is provided by The ASCAP Foundation Bart Howard Fund.

About The Herb Alpert Foundation
The Herb Alpert Foundation, a non-profit, private foundation established in the early 1980s, makes significant annual contributions to a range of programs in the fields of Arts, Arts Education and Compassion and Well Being. Its funding is directed toward projects in which Herb and Lani Alpert and Foundation President Rona Sebastian play an active role. [The Foundation does not accept unsolicited proposals.]

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education, talent development and humanitarian programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.

# # #
Press Contacts:
Bobbi Marcus
bobbi marcus pr & events, inc
o: 310.889.9200