Dee Dee Bridgewater and Broadway’s David Hein and Irene Sankoff Among Honorees At The 2017 ASCAP Foundation Honors

December 14, 2017

Presenters include ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams, Desmond Child, Marcus Miller, Stephen Schwartz and George Wein 

Scholarship and Award Recipients Also Recognized

NEW YORK, Dec. 14, 2017 -- The ASCAP Foundation tonight honored jazz legend Dee Dee Bridgewater with The ASCAP Foundation Champion Award, and acclaimed Broadway composers/lyricists/librettists David Hein and Irene Sankoff with the Richard Rodgers New Horizons Award. The accolades were presented at The 2017 ASCAP Foundation Honors at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City.

The ASCAP Foundation Champion Award, presented by ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams to Dee Dee Bridgewater, celebrates ASCAP members whose contributions extend beyond music to significant charitable and humanitarian efforts.  In addition to her Grammy-winning accomplishments as a jazz vocalist, Bridgewater is a Goodwill Ambassador to the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization, building international solidarity to finance global grassroots projects in the fight against world hunger.  Williams introduced Bridgewater at the ceremony as “a shining example of the beautiful relationship that exists between creators and activism, balancing a thriving musical career with a commitment to her role as a ‘warrior for the light.’” Previous recipients of the award include Arlo Guthrie, Tony Bennett, Judy Collins, John Mellencamp, Billy Joel, Richard Marx, Ne-Yo and Jason Mraz.

Legendary Broadway composer Stephen Schwartz presented Grammy and Tony-nominated Come From Away librettists David Hein and Irene Sankoff with the Richard Rodgers New Horizons Award.  Schwartz declared that their “story of how generosity and love prevail in times of great hardship, their rollicking Celtic-styled music and candid, evocative lyrics make the show a total work of heart.” Jenn Colella, star of the hit musical, appeared in a special tribute performance of “Me and the Sky.” The Richard Rodgers Award was conceived and funded by the late Mary Rodgers, daughter of Richard Rodgers, to encourage promising young ASCAP composers of musical theater.

The ceremony also featured performances by several award-winning emerging artists in various musical genres.  Outstanding performances by this year’s honorees included “Cheatin’ Backwards,” from Drake Milligan, Desmond Child Anthem Award winner; “Party Fowl,” from David Leon, Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award recipient; "New Year's Day (We Made It All the Way)" from Brian Nathan, BMG Scholarship winner in honor of Quincy Jones; “Characterization,” from Tengu Irfan, Morton Gould Young Composers Award recipient; and “Our Love is Alive” performed by Danielle Harris and Myles Potters, Robert Allen Award co-recipients.

A complete list of 2017 ASCAP Foundation Scholarship and Award recipients can be found at

About The ASCAP Foundation

Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education, talent development and humanitarian programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.

Learn more and stay in touch at, on Twitter @ascapfoundation, and on Facebook.

#    #    #


Bobbi Marcus
Bobbi Marcus PR & Events, Inc.
(310) 889-9200