Dua Lipa, The Amazons, Steve Mac And MNEK Honoured With Prestigious ASCAP Awards At Ceremony In London Tonight

October 16, 2017



LONDON, 16 Oct 2017 – Tonight The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP), the world leader in performing rights and advocacy for music creators, celebrated some of the most successful songwriters, composers and performers in British music. Amongst the honourees were pop sensation Dua Lipa, acclaimed rock quartet The Amazons and luminary songwriter and producer Steve Mac. The 2017 ASCAP Awards London took place at One Marylebone.

Two coveted ASCAP Vanguard Awards were presented at the ceremony to Dua Lipa and The Amazons. The award recognizes the impact of outstanding ASCAP members on musical genres that will help shape the future of music. “New Rules” hitmaker Dua Lipa was presented with her award by ASCAP Chief Executive Officer Elizabeth Matthews.

After opening the ceremony with a rousing performance of “Junk Food Forever,” The Amazons returned to the stage to collect the second Vanguard Award of the night. ASCAP Vice President Membership UK/ Europe Simon Greenaway presented the Reading rockers with their award.

The prestigious ASCAP Founders Award, one of the most significant honours that ASCAP bestows upon songwriters and composers who have made pioneering contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators, was presented to Steve Mac in recognition of his global success and 27-year body of work. ASCAP President Paul Williams presented the award and Mac was celebrated with a special acoustic performance from his recent “Rockabye” collaborator and one of the hottest names in British pop, Anne-Marie.

Jamaican singer Richie Stephens, whose “Sail Away (Riddim)” was sampled by Barbadian superstar Rihanna on her massive global smash “Work” featuring Drake, was presented with two awards from ASCAP Executive Vice President, Membership, John Titta — one for Song of the Year and another for Top Digital Song. The record-breaking song spent nine consecutive weeks at number-one on the Billboard Hot 100 and was named the best song of 2016 in NME”s year-end critics poll.

Last year’s ASCAP Vanguard Award recipient MNEK returned to the ASCAP stage to accept his award for Top EDM Song. “Never Forget You,” a collaboration with Swedish pop princess Zara Larsson reached the top 10 in several countries, including the United Kingdom, Sweden, Denmark and Finland, and became both Larsson and MNEK”s first US chart entry. The song is certified 5× Platinum in Sweden and 3× Platinum in the US.

British composer Joby Talbot won Film Score of the Year for his work on the Original Motion Picture Score for Illumination Entertainment’s Sing. The animated film distributed by Universal Pictures about a group of anthropomorphic animals that enter a singing competition grossed $632 million worldwide.

ASCAP Vice President Membership UK/ Europe Simon Greenaway served as host for the evening, assisted by Director, Membership UK/ Europe David Ryan Jordan.

Other awards presented this evening were in recognition of Hot 100 Songs, EDM Songs, Digital Song, Top Film and Top Television Series.

The full list of ASCAP Awards 2017 winners this year is as follows: 

  • ASCAP Vanguard Award – Dua Lipa
  • ASCAP Vanguard Award – The Amazons
  • ASCAP Founders Award – Steve Mac
  • ASCAP Song of the Year – Richie Stephens (“Work” by Rihanna Ft. Drake)
  • ASCAP Top Digital Song – Richie Stephens (“Work” by Rihanna Ft. Drake)
  • ASCAP Top EDM Song – MNEK (“Never Forget You” by Zara Larsson & MNEK)
  • ASCAP Film Score of the Year – Joby Talbot (Sing)
  • ASCAP Hot 100 Winning Songs
    • Joe Garrett & Levi Lennox (“PILLOWTALK” by Zayn Malik)
    • Thomas William Raybould (“The Hills” by The Weeknd)
    • Moses Anthony Davis & Gary Lewis Jackson (“Controlla” by Drake)
    • Matthew Alan Prime (“One Call Away” by Charlie Puth)
    • Paul Michael Barry (“Let It Go” by James Bay)
    • MNEK (“Never Forget You” by Zara Larsson & MNEK)
    • Steven Marsden (“Let Me Love You” by DJ Snake Ft. Justin Bieber)
    • Steven Marsden, Wayne Burton Jerome Passley & Mark Anthony Wolfe (“LUV” by Tory Lanez)
    • Chris Martin, Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland & Will Champion (Hymn For The Weekend” by Coldplay)
    • Handel Wesley Alexander Tucker (“All In My Head (Flex)” by Fifth Harmony Ft. Fetty Wap)
    • Chris Martin, Guy Berryman, Jonny Buckland & Will Champion (“Adventure Of A Lifetime” by Coldplay)
    • Peter Kelleher & Benjamin Kohn (“Me, Myself & I” by G-Eazy Ft. Bebe Rexha)
  • ASCAP EDM Winning Songs
    • Steve Marsden (“Let Me Love You” by DJ Snake Ft. Justin Bieber)
    • Nicholas Gale (“No Money” by Galantis)
    • JP Cooper & Alex James Smith (“Perfect Strangers” by Jonas Blue Ft. JP Cooper)
    • Jess Glynne (“Hold My Hand” by Jess Glynne)
    • Becky Hill & James Newman (“False Alarm” by Matoma Ft. Becky Hill)
  • ASCAP Digital Song Award
    • Joe Garrett & Levi Lennox (“PILLOWTALK” by Zayn Malik)
    • Peter Kelleher & Benjamin Kohn (“Me, Myself & I” by G-Eazy Ft. Bebe Rexha)
  • ASCAP Top Film Awards
    • David Buckley (“Jason Bourne”)
    • Simon Franglen (“The Magnificent Seven (2016)”)
    • Michael Higham (“Miss Peregrine”s Home For Peculiar Children”)
    • Lorne David Roderick Balfe (“13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers Of Benghazi”)
    • Dario Marianelli (“Kubo And The Two Strings”)
  • ASCAP Top Television Series Awards
    • Julian Gingell & Barry Stone (“American Idol” (FOX))
    • Daniel McGrath & Josh Phillips (“Dancing With The Stars” (ABC))
    • Alex Heffes (“11.22.63” (Hulu))
    • Daniel Suett & Mel Wesson (“The Curse Of Oak Island” (History))
    • Stefano Ruggeri (“Grave Secrets” (Investigation Discovery))
    • Paul Leonard-Morgan (“Limitless” (CBS))
    • Peter Townshend (“CSI: Cyber” (CBS))
    • John Lunn (“Downton Abbey” (PBS))


- ENDS -

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world's best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business - from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With more than 825,000 members representing more than 10 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. Learn more and stay in touch at www.ascap.com, on Twitter and Instagram @ASCAP and on Facebook.

# # #

For further information on the ASCAP AWARDS:

Doug Wright / Josh Moss

Tel: 020 7439 7222




Cathy Halgas Nevins, ASCAP

cnevins (at) ascap.com