Choral Music Composer Morten Lauridsen, Jazz Composer Maria Schneider And Broadway’s Pasek & Paul Among Honorees At The 2016 ASCAP Foundation Honors

December 15, 2016

l: Morten Lauridsen, ASCAP Foundation Board Member Alex Shapiro; r: Maria Schneider, ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams 

NEW YORK, Dec. 15, 2015 -- The ASCAP Foundation last night honored acclaimed choral music composer Morten Lauridsen and groundbreaking jazz composer and bandleader Maria Schneider with The ASCAP Foundation Life in Music Award. The accolades were presented at The 2016 ASCAP Foundation Honors at the Appel Room and Ertegun Atrium in Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall, Broadway at 60th Street, New York City.

The ASCAP Foundation Life in Music Award is presented by The ASCAP Foundation to an ASCAP writer member for his or her outstanding accomplishments as a composer, songwriter, performer, arranger or vocalist in any genre. The 21st annual event also honored and featured performances from scholarship and award recipients in an array of music genres including classical, jazz, musical theater, pop, country and rhythm & soul, all of whom benefit from programs of The ASCAP Foundation.

Tony and Emmy-nominated songwriting duo Benj Pasek and Justin Paul received the Harold Adamson Lyric Award. The team opened the show with “Waving Through a Window” from their award-winning Broadway musical Dear Evan Hansen (Outer Critics Circle Award, Obie Award, Helen Hayes Award, Drama Desk Award). Pasek & Paul also have original material featured in recent Hollywood hits La La Land and The Trolls.

The Maria Schneider Duo celebrated Schneider’s honor with a performance of her composition “Walking By Flashlight.” Other outstanding performances by this year’s honorees included “Good Go Bad,” from Brad Blackburn, Leon Brettler Award winner; “Heart Like a Phoenix,” from Kate Copeland, Robert Allen Award winner; “Breaking Point,” from Roxy Coss, Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award winner; “New York City Lights,” from Charles Duke, “Reach Out and Touch” Award winner in honor of Nick Ashford; “Bad Night in Heaven” from Kison, Desmond Child Anthem Award winner; and “Point G” from Ali Can Puskulcu, Morton Gould Young Composer Award winner.

The show closed with the performance of an excerpt of Morten Lauridsen’s “Sure On This Shining Night” by the Schola Cantorum on Hudson Vocal Ensemble.

A complete list of 2016 ASCAP Foundation Scholarship and Award recipients follows:



Harold Adamson Lyric Awards
Country - Lonnie Lee Fowler
Musical Theatre - Benj Pasek & Justin Paul
R&S - Niré Alldai, Aaron ‘ys’ Dales,
Raleigh Dunn (of TheVAMP), Maya Milan, Frankie P,
Cesar "Pearl Gates" Perez, Jr. & Rent Money
Pop Justin Hariz & Ben Samama [Oktavian]

Robert Allen Award
Kate Copeland

Cheín Garcia Alonso Scholarship
Jorddy Romero

Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards
Emily Bear, David Bernot, Paul Bloom, Esteban Castro, Mario Castro, Michael Conrad, Roxy Coss, Natalie Dietz, Lukas Gabric, Joshua Green, Dave Hassell, Taylor Herron, Gene Knific, Jodie Landau, Remy Le Boeuf, Roos Plaatsman, Jonathan Saraga, Jeremy Siskind & Christopher Zuar
Honorable Mentions - Andrew D. Herring,
Andrew Karboski, Josh Shpak, Alexander Weitz
& Matthew Whitaker

Harold Arlen Film & TV Award
Jules Pegram

Harold Arlen Musical Theatre Award
Andrea Daly

Louis Armstrong Scholarships
at Queens College
Jacques Boudreau
at the University of New Orleans
Jack Vogt

“Reach Out and Touch” Award
in honor of Nick Ashford
Charles Duke

Irving Berlin Summer Camp Scholarship
Arté Warren

Leonard Bernstein Award
Saevar Rodine

Ira Gershwin Scholarship
Allie Quan

Jay Gorney Award
Scott Evan Davis

Morton Gould Young Composer Awards
Natalie Dietterich - Leo Kaplan Award
Paris Lavidis - Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship
Daniel Allas, Ermir Bejo, Trevor Bumgarner, Thérèse-Marie Chaix, Thomas Dougherty, Jess Larsen, Sky Macklay, David Mettens, Ali Can Puskulcu, Marco-Adrián Ramos, Jake Runestad, Barry Sharp & Alyssa Weinberg
Honorable Mentions - Frazar P. Henry,
Joel Rust, Peter Shin & Phil Taylor

Harold Heiberg Vocal/Accompanying
Rebecca Hansen, Levi Hernandez

Jerry Herman Broadway Legacy Prize
Anthony Hurd, Rhetta Kampel,
Brian Ross Klimowski, Morgan Kruger

Fred Ho Award
Marie Incontrera

Bart Howard Scholarship
at Belmont University
Christine Mason Schmitt
at Berklee College of Music
Julia Battistin, Jeffrey Gaiser

BMG Scholarship
in honor of Quincy Jones
Jillian Young

Steve Kaplan TV & Film Studies Award
Marco ValerIo Antonini

Michelle & Dean Kay Award
Nicolas Repetto

Leiber & Stoller Music Scholarship
Emma Wernig

Frederick Loewe Scholarship
Benji Goldsmith

Barbara & John LoFrumento Award
Music Conservatory of Westchester
Music Therapy Institute

Freddy Bienstock Scholarship & Internship
Alexandra Tamashunas

Boosey & Hawkes Young Composer Award
honoring Aaron Copland
Lila Meretzky

Leon Brettler Award
Brad Blackburn

Irving Burgie Scholarship
Shania Wilcox

Irving Caesar Scholarships
Leah Brekke, Marcandrew Martinez

Sammy Cahn Award
Caylee Anna Hammack

Desmond Child Anthem Award

Eunice & Hal David Merit Award
Caleb Collins

Fran Morgenstern Davis Scholarship
Willie Beaton II
Matthew Wong

Jamie deRoy & friends Award
Shelly Markham

DreamWorks Animation
Musical Theatre Scholarship
in honor of Stephen Schwartz
Mina Bloom, Rachel Gilbert, Tristan Mclntyre,
Dylan Schifrin, Bailey Share-Aizic & Juan Solis

Louis Dreyfus Warner/Chappell
City College Scholarship
honoring George & Ira Gershwin
Jasmin Klinger

Max Dreyfus Scholarship
Rachel Dean

Fellowship for Composition at
The Aspen Musical Festival & School

Andrew Hsu

Ira Gershwin Scholarship
Eastchester School District

Henry Mancini Music Fellowship
Michael Dean Parsons

Johnny Mandel Prize
Christopher Zuar

Vic Mizzy Scholarship
Erik DeLong

Rudolf Nissim Prize
Vincent Calianno

Cole Porter Award
Brett Ryback

Louis Prima Award
Brian Richburg, Jr.

Joe Raposo Children’s Music Award
Dan Bern

Joan & Irwin Robinson Scholarship
Anthony Kott

Betty Rose Scholarship
Drew Mikuska

David Rose Award
Dan Martinez

Jimmy Van Heusen Award
Maxwell Karmazyn

Mariana & Paul Williams
Sunlight of the Spirit Award
Nick Patyk

Lucille & Jack Yellen Award
Shaina Taub


About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education, talent development and humanitarian programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. Learn more and stay in touch at, on Twitter @ascapfoundation, and on Facebook.

# # #

Press Contacts:
Bobbi Marcus, Bobbi Marcus PR & Events, Inc.
(310) 889-9200