April 01, 2016

The ASCAP Foundation Names 2016 Morton Gould Young Composer Award Recipients

New York, NY, April 1, 2016: ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams has announced the recipients of the 2016 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Award, which encourage talented young creators of concert music. The composers will be recognized at the annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards event in September.

Congratulating the Award recipients, Paul Williams said, "These gifted young composers ranging in age from 14 to 30 represent the bright future of American concert music. We congratulate them and extend our great appreciation to the dedicated panel of ASCAP members who selected the winners from over 700 submissions.”

The 2016 Morton Gould Young Composer Award recipients are listed with their current residence, and place of origin: Daniel Allas of Waltham, MA (Framingham, MA); Ermir Bejo of Denton, TX (Tirana, Albania); Trevor Bumgarner of New York, NY (Newton, NC); Thérèse-Marie Chaix of New York, NY (Oakland, CA); Natalie Dietterich of New Haven, CT (Harleysville, PA); Thomas Dougherty of Los Angeles, CA (Pittsburgh, PA); Sky Macklay of New York, NY (Waseca, MN); David Mettens of Chicago, IL (Covington, KY); Ali Puskulcu of New York, NY (Istanbul, Turkey); Marco-Adrián Ramos of New York, NY (Bentonville, AR); Jake Runestad of Minneapolis, MN (Rockford, IL); Barry Sharp of Ithaca, NY (Shelbyville, KY); and Alyssa Weinberg of Philadelphia, PA (Dix Hills, NY).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer Award recipients are listed by state of residence: Jesse Larsen age 16 (MA); and Paris Lavidis age 14 (NY).

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Frazar P. Henry age 10 (FL); Joel Rust of New York, NY (London, United Kingdom); Peter Shin of Los Angeles, CA (Kansas City, MO); and Phil Taylor of Pittsburgh, PA (Salem, OR).

The ASCAP composer/judges were: Steven Burke, James Matheson, Tamar Muskal, Philip Rothman, Robert Sirota, Edward Smaldone, Matthew Van Brink, Melinda Wagner and Randall Woolf.

Established in 1979, with funding from the Jack and Amy Norworth Fund, The ASCAP Foundation Young Composer Award program grants cash prizes to Concert Music composers up to 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition. These composers may be American citizens, permanent residents, or students possessing US Student Visas.

Morton Gould, a Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, served as President of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 – 1994. An eminent and versatile American composer, Gould was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. To honor Gould’s lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators, the annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to his memory, following his death in 1996.

The award-winning composers share cash prizes including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor; the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger; and grants from The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth Fund. Jack Norworth wrote such standards as "Shine On Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame."

About The ASCAP Foundation

Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education, talent development and humanitarian programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org

# # #

Press Contact:

ASCAP – Cathy Nevins