March 25, 2016

Composer Craig Armstrong Honored With ASCAP Henry Mancini Award at 2016 ASCAP Screen Music Awards

Top Film, TV and Video Game Composers Recognized Along with
Three Composers’ Choice Awards:
Film Score of the Year: Ennio Morricone for The Hateful Eight
Television Composer of the Year: Bear McCreary
Video Game Score of the Year: Austin Wintory for Assassin’s Creed Syndicate

LOS ANGELES, March 24, 2016 -- ASCAP, the American Society for Composers, Authors and Publishers, hosted its 31st annual Screen Music Awards (formerly the Film & Television Music Awards) last night at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles. A total of 138 awards were presented for the most performed music on television, in film and in video games. Composer Craig Armstrong received the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award from ASCAP President Paul Williams and legendary director Oliver Stone, his collaborator on Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps, the upcoming Snowden and more. The segment included special arrangements of Armstrong’s music for The Great Gatsby and Love Actually by the Calder Quartet, plus a performance of “This Love” from Cruel Intentions by vocalist and actress Lindsay Pearce of Glee and Recovery Road.

The winners of the three ASCAP Composers’ Choice categories were also revealed. Inaugurated by ASCAP in 2014, the ASCAP Composers’ Choice Awards are nominated by a committee of professional composers and industry experts, and voted on exclusively by ASCAP writer members. Bear McCreary (Marvel’s Agents of SHIELD, Black Sails, Defiance, The Walking Dead) took home TV Composer of the Year for the second time. Austin Wintory picked up his second straight Video Game Score of the Year win, for his score to Assassin’s Creed Syndicate. Ennio Morricone added an ASCAP Film Score of the Year honor to his Oscar, Golden Globe and BAFTA for The Hateful Eight.

Other top composers were honored onstage as they collected their awards. TV composer David Vanacore gave a rare live performance of his music from The Apprentice and Are You Smarter Than a 5th Grader, then acceptedthe Most Performed Themes & Underscore award from his mentor Mike Post (composer of Law & Order, The A-Team, NYPD Blue). Super-producer Timbaland earned the Top Network Series award for his work on Empire -- his first-ever ASCAP Screen Music Awards honor. Actress Taryn Manning, who plays Tiffany "Pennsatucky" Doggett on Orange Is the New Black, gave the show’s composers Scott Doherty and Brandon Jay their Top Streaming Series award. James Levine, who won Top Cable Series for his work on Rizzoli & Isles, was honored by The Chamber Singers from the Academy of Music and Performing Arts at Hamilton High School with a performance of “Rachel’s Dads” and “Recruits” from Glee, which he also wrote. Michael Giacchino took home the Top Box Office Films trophy for his Jurassic World score. The late composer James Horner was also honored in video and with comments from ASCAP Board member Dan Foliart.

View a complete list of 2016 ASCAP Screen Music Awards winners.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world's best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business - from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With 690,000 members representing more than 11.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. Learn more and stay in touch at, on Twitter @ASCAP and on Facebook.

# # #

Bobbi Marcus, Bobbi Marcus PR
Bobbi Marcus PR & Events, Inc.
(310) 889-9200

Cathy Halgas Nevins, ASCAP
cnevins (at)