May 29, 2015

ASCAP to Honor Ms. Lauryn Hill with Golden Note Award at 28th Annual ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards

Hill to Perform at Event Celebrating Top Songwriters and Publishers

Lauryn Hill

ASCAP Golden Note Award Honoree Ms. Lauryn Hill

NEW YORK, May 29, 2015: The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) will host its 28th annual Rhythm & Soul Music Awards on Thursday, June 25th, 2015 at The Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Los Angeles. The invitation-only event will pay special tribute to Ms. Lauryn Hill who will also perform during the evening. Additionally, ASCAP will honor the songwriters and publishers of the most performed ASCAP songs on the 2014 R&B, hip-hop, rap and gospel charts.

During the ceremony, Grammy Award-winning singer, songwriter, rapper and producer Ms. Hill will be presented with the ASCAP Golden Note Award. The award is among the most prestigious honors that ASCAP gives to songwriters, composers and artists who have achieved extraordinary career milestones. Past recipients include: Pharrell Williams, Dr. Dre, Alicia Keys, Sean “Diddy” Combs, Jeff Lynne, Reba McIntire, LL Cool J, Jermaine Dupri, Jay-Z, Lionel Richie, Stevie Wonder, Kenny Rogers, Quincy Jones, Elton John, Tom Petty and many more.

“Ms. Hill’s talent as a songwriter is undeniable and reflects her singular take on the world we live in,” said ASCAP President Paul Williams. “Her ability to push boundaries and capture the humanity that surrounds us has created a musical legacy that belongs with the greats.”

Ms. Lauryn Hill is an American singer–songwriter, rapper, producer, and actress. She is best known for being a member of the Fugees and for her solo album, The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill. That record made her the first woman/hip-hop artist to win five Grammy Awards for “Album of the Year,” “Best New Artist,” “Best Female R&B Performance,” “Best R&B Song” ("Doo Wop (That Thing)") and “Best R&B Album.” In total, Ms. Hill has received eight Grammy Awards, three American Music Awards, two Billboard Awards and is equally recognized for her philanthropic effort “The Refugee Project,” an organization that served underprivileged urban youth.

“Ms. Hill inspired a generation with her work and her ideals,” said Nicole George-Middleton, ASCAP VP Rhythm & Soul.  “We are so proud of her extraordinary contributions to the songwriting community and excited about this opportunity to honor her with the ASCAP Golden Note Award.”

During the ceremony, other top awards will also be given for the Songwriter of the Year, Publisher of the Year, Top R&B/Hip-Hop Song, Top Rap Song and Top Gospel Song. The evening will feature performances by several award-winning songwriters/performers, and will be attended by some of the top names in the music and entertainment industry.

View the 2015 ASCAP Rhythm & Soul Music Awards Official Rules And Regulations.

Members of the press may apply for credentials here.


The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world's best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business - from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With 700,000 members representing more than 11.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members.

# # #

Press Contacts:

Kobe Swanson / Kerry Smalls

(212) 366-5801 /