March 30, 2015

ASCAP and eOne Morning Glory Breakfast Honors 2015 Stellar Award Nominees

Pastor Smokie Norful Receives ASCAP Spirit Of Song Award; The Williams Brothers Honored With ASCAP Gospel Icon Award

LAS VEGAS, March 28, 2015 -- ASCAP honored some of gospel music’s most prestigious names at its 6th annual ASCAP Morning Glory Breakfast at The Orleans Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas on March 28. The breakfast, one of the premiere events leading up to the 30th annual Stellar Awards, honored revered Pastor Smokie Norful with the ASCAP “Spirit of Song” Award, legendary quartet The Williams Brothers with the ASCAP “Gospel Icon” Award, and recognized a multitude of other 2015 Stellar Awards honorees. Hosted by GRAMMY-Award winner Michelle Williams, the breakfast also featured special performances by powerhouse gospel recording artist Dorinda Clark-Cole and acclaimed vocalist William McDowell.

“We’re very excited to honor so many gospel greats and 2015 Stellar Award nominees at our annual Morning Glory Breakfast,” said Nicole George-Middleton, ASCAP VP, Rhythm & Soul/Urban, who regretfully couldn't be in attendance, but left the event in the great hands of ASCAP Associate Directors Jennifer Goicoechea, Moya Nkruma, Joncier Rienecker and Director Jonathan Jones.

ASCAP’s honorees were themselves nominated for Stellar Awards: Pastor Smokie Norful for Artist of the Year, Contemporary CD of the Year – “Forever Yours,” Contemporary Male Vocalist of the Year, and Male Vocalist of the Year; and The Williams Brothers for Group/Duo of the Year, Quartet of the Year, and Traditional Group/Duo of the Year. Morning Glory Breakfast performer William McDowell was nominated for Praise and Worship CD of the Year – “Withholding Nothing,” Traditional CD of the Year – “Withholding Nothing,” and Traditional Male Vocalist of the Year.

Also in attendance were other ASCAP Stellar Award nominees including Larry D. Trotter (Traditional Choir of the Year), Charles Butler (Contemporary Choir of the Year), Darnell Davis (Contemporary Choir of the Year), Harmony Samuels (Song of the Year – “Say Yes”), Rick Robinson (Producer of the Year), STL3 (Youth Project of the Year – “All Things New”), Tasha Page-Lockhart (Albertina Walker Female Vocalist of the Year, Contemporary Female Vocalist of the Year, New Artist of the Year), and Will Bogle (Producer of the Year),along with recording artists Kirk Franklin, Shawn Stockman and The Walls Group, songwriter Gerald Haddon and motivational speaker/preacher DeVon Franklin.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world's best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business - from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With 700,000 members representing more than 11.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members.