November 03, 2014

Ashley Gorley Named Songwriter of the Year at 52nd Annual ASCAP Country Music Awards

Alan Jackson, Craig Wiseman Presented with ASCAP Heritage Award; Ben Hayslip, Jimmy Robbins, Warner/Chappell Also Among Top Honorees

ASCAP Country Music Awards 2014

ASCAP's Michael Martin, Song of the Year co-writer Ben Hayslip, Songwriter of the year Ashley Gorley, Song of the Year co-writer Jimmy Robbins, ASCAP Heritage Award Honoree Craig Wiseman, Publisher of the Year Warner/Chappell Music Publishing's Ben Vaughn and Jon Platt, and ASCAP's LeAnn Phelan

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) hosted the 52nd Annual ASCAP Country Music Awards on Monday, November 3rd in the Grand Ballroom of Nashville’s Music City Center. The writers of country music's most performed songs of the period between April 2013 and March 2014 were honored before an audience of distinguished Nashville songwriters, top country stars and music industry leaders. Special tribute was paid to Alan Jackson and songwriter Craig Wiseman, who were each presented with the ASCAP Heritage Award in commemoration of ASCAP’s 100th anniversary.

ASCAP Country Music Songwriter of the Year: Ashley Gorley

ASCAP Country Music Song of the Year: "It Goes Like This," written by Ben Hayslip and Jimmy Robbins; published by Extraordinary Alien, THiS Music, Tar-Cam-Knox Music, Warner/Chappell Music Publishing and Universal Music Publishing; recorded by Thomas Rhett.

ASCAP Country Music Publisher of the Year: Warner/Chappell Music Publishing

ASCAP EVP of Licensing, Vincent Candilora, presented the ASCAP Partners in Music Award to Mike Grimes and Dave Brown of The Basement, in recognition of their unwavering support of songwriters and artists, through the showcasing and promoting of Nashville’s finest music.

A total of 45 most-performed song honors were presented, highlighted by special performances from the writers of the top five most performed songs of the year. Performances included "Don’t Ya," by songwriters Chris DeStefano, Ashley Gorley and Brett Eldredge (recorded by Brett Eldredge); “Crash My Party,” performed by songwriter Ashley Gorley (recorded by Luke Bryan); "Friday Night," by songwriter and recording artist Eric Paslay; Song of the Year “It Goes Like This,” performed by songwriters Ben Hayslip, Jimmy Robbins, Rhett Akins and recording artist Thomas Rhett; and "Runnin’ Outta Moonlight" performed by songwriters Ashley Gorley, Kelley Lovelace and Dallas Davidson (recorded by Randy Houser).

The show kicked off with ASCAP songwriter-artist Lee Ann Womack, who performed the song "Send It On Down" from her first studio album in nearly seven years, the critically-acclaimed The Way I’m Livin’.

Alan Jackson

ASCAP Heritage Award Honoree Alan Jackson

ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams and special guest presenter Connie Bradley presented the ASCAP Heritage Award to Alan Jackson, who earned the title of most-performed country music songwriter-artist of ASCAP’s first 100 years. The honor included a video tribute that highlighted some of Jackson’s career milestones, as well as interview segments with music industry luminaries who were instrumental in launching his career: ASCAP Board member Barry Coburn, former Arista Records head Tim DuBois and longtime producer Keith Stegall.

ASCAP Heritage Award was also presented to Craig Wiseman, ASCAP’s most-performed country music songwriter of the past century, whose video tribute included heartfelt interviews with Kenny Chesney, Tim McGraw, Blake Shelton and more. Longtime Wiseman friend and colleague Chris Oglesby presented the award alongside Williams.

Michael Martin and LeAnn Phelan, the leaders of ASCAP’s Nashville membership team, presented Ashley Gorley with the ASCAP Country Music Songwriter of the Year award for the second time in his career – he first earned the honor in 2009. Gorley was responsible for penning eight of the most performed songs of 2013, including three of ASCAP’s top five songs of the year: “Crash My Party,” recorded by Luke Bryan; “Don’t Ya,” recorded by Brett Eldredge; and “Runnin Outta Moonlight,” recorded by Randy Houser. Gorley’s additional award-winning songs include “All Over The Road” (Justin Moore), “Aw Naw” (Chris Young), “Hey Girl” (Billy Currington), “Radio” (Darius Rucker) and “That’s My Kind Of Night” (Luke Bryan).

ASCAP Song of the Year honors went to co-writers Ben Hayslip and Jimmy Robbins for “It Goes Like This,” recorded by Thomas Rhett and published by Extraordinary Alien, This Music, Tar-Cam-Knox Music, Warner/Chappell Music Publishing and Universal Music Publishing. The award was also presented by ASCAP Nashville heads Michael Martin and LeAnn Phelan.

This year’s ASCAP Country Music Publisher of the Year honors went to Warner/Chappell Music Publishing, who published nineteen of ASCAP’s 2013 award-winning songs. ASCAP CEO John LoFrumento presented the award to Warner/Chappell, which was accepted by the EVP of Warner/Chappell Nashville, Ben Vaughn, and his Nashville team.

Artists in attendance included Angaleena Presley, Billy Currington, Cassadee Pope, Clare Dunn, Dan + Shay, David Nail, Dierks Bentley, the Doobie Brothers’ Michael McDonald and Patrick Simmons, Drake White, Eric Paslay, Jennifer Nettles, Jerrod Niemann, Joe Nichols, John King, Kelsea Ballerini, Kip Moore, Lady Antebellum’s Charles Kelley and Dave Haywood, Love and Theft, Maddie & Tae, Old Dominion, RaeLynn, Rascal Flatts, Sam Hunt, Shannon and Ashley Campbell, The Swon Brothers, Wynonna and more.

# # #

Media Contact:
Ronna Rubin - Rubin Media
(615) 298-4400

Alison Toczylowski - ASCAP
(615) 742-5073