46th Annual ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Awards Announced

October 7, 2014

New York, October 7, 2014: The winners of the 46th annual ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/ Virgil Thomson Awards for outstanding print, broadcast and new media coverage of music were announced today. The winners will be honored at a special invitation-only ceremony and reception on Wednesday, November 12th at the New York Institute of Technology Auditorium (1871 Broadway) in Manhattan.

The Awards were established in 1967 to honor the memory of composer, critic and commentator Deems Taylor, who died in 1966 after a distinguished career that included six years as President of ASCAP. The Awards have been renamed this year to also honor the memory of Virgil Thomson (1896 – 1989), one of the leading American composers and critics, and a former member of the ASCAP board of directors. The 46th ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Awards are made possible by the generous support of ASCAP, The ASCAP Foundation and the Virgil Thomson Foundation.

The ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/ Virgil Thomson Television Broadcast Award honors Six by Sondheim, an HBO documentary program that provides an unprecedented, in-depth look at the work of Broadway lyricist and composer Stephen Sondheim. Receiving honors are Sondheim, Director and Executive Producer James Lapine, Executive Producer Frank Rich, and Executive Producer for HBO, Shelia Nevins.

The ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Radio Broadcast Award honors the program, “Cadenza,” one of many outstanding offerings heard on The Classical Network, WWFM, based in Trenton, New Jersey; David Osenberg, “Cadenza” host and WWFM Musical Director.

The ASCAP Foundation Deems Taylor/Virgil Thomson Multimedia Award recognizes the inter-related components of the Caffé Lena History Project:

  • Book: Caffé Lena: Inside America’s Legendary Folk Coffeehouse, Jocelyn Arem, Editor, published by powerhouse Books
  • CD Box Set: Live at Caffé Lena:Music from America's Legendary Coffeehouse,1967-2013, Jocelyn Arem & Steve Rosenthal, Liner Notes Tompkins Square Records
  • Website: caffelenahistory.org

The Nicolas Slonimsky Award for Outstanding Musical Biographyin the concert music field honors Kerry McCarthy for her book Byrd, published by Oxford University Press. This award was established to honor the memory of Slonimsky (1894-1995), the Russian-American composer, conductor, musicologist and critic.

The Timothy White Award for Outstanding Musical Biographyin the pop music field recognizes Duke:A Life of Duke Ellington, written Terry Teachout and published by Gotham Books. This award honors the memory of the late Tim White (1952 - 2002), the author of many acclaimed musical biographies and an Editor-in-Chief of Billboard magazine.

The Béla Bartók Award for Outstanding Ethnomusicology Book honors Alejandro L. Madrid and Robin D. Moore for their book, Danzón: Circum-Caribbean Dialogues in Music and Dance (Currents in Latin American and Iberian Music), published by Oxford University Press. The award was established in memory of the great Hungarian composer, pianist and ethnomusicologist, Béla Bartók (1881-1945).

The Virgil Thomson Award for Outstanding Music Criticism recognizes Drew Massey for his book, John Kirkpatrick, American Music, and the Printed Page, published by University of Rochester Press.

Other book honorees are:

  • Annegret Fauser for Sounds of War: Music in the United States during World War II, published by Oxford University Press.
  • Donald Fagen for Eminent Hipsters,published by Viking Penguin
  • Sheryl Kaskowitz for God Bless America: The Surprising History of an Iconic Song, published by Oxford University Press.
  • Alyn Shipton for Nilsson: The Life of a Singer-Songwriter,published by Oxford University Press.

The authors and publishers of the award-winning articles are:

    Michael Alan Anderson for his article’The One Who Comes After Me’: John the Baptist, Christian Time, Musical Techniques, published by The Journal of the American Musicological Society.
  • Emily Abrams Ansari for her article “Vindication, Cleansing, Catharsis, Hope”: Interracial Reconciliation and the Dilemmas of Multiculturalism in Kay and Dorr’s Jubilee (1976),” published by American Music, University of Illinois Press
  • Jonathan Cott for his liner notes to Stravinsky: Le Sacre Du Printemps, Leonard Bernstein & the New York Philharmonic released by Sony Masterworks
  • Geoffrey Himes for his articles “The Bass Clarinet: The Low End Theory” published by JazzTimes and “What If the Beatles Hadn’t Broken Up? An Alternate History”published by Paste Magazine
  • Patrick Joseph Huber for his article “Black Hillbillies: African American Musicians on Old-Time Records, 1924-1932.” Appeared in Hidden In the Mix: African American Country Music Traditions, ed. by Diane Pecknold, published by Duke University Press.
  • Barrett Martin for his liner notes in Above by Mad Season (Deluxe Edition) released by Sony Legacy Recordings
  • Will Robin for his article “Shape Notes, Billings, and American Modernisms” published by NewMusicBox.org, New Music USA.
  • Andy Zax for his article “Scenes from the Chocolate Orchid Piano Bar” published by The Oxford American.

The members of the ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards Judging Panel for 2014 are Jonathan David, Daniel Felsenfeld, Julie Flanders, Pat Irwin, David Massengill, Richard Miller Paul Moravec, Matthew Shipp, and Wesley Stace.

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org

Press Contact:
Jim Steinblatt