June 02, 2014

ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame to Induct Living Legends Kenny Burrell, Dick Hyman and Helen Merrill and Jazz Giants of the Past Bessie Smith and Juan Tizol

Gregory Porter to be recognized with The ASCAP Foundation Jazz Vanguard Award

Michigan Congressman John Conyers, Jr. to receive inaugural ASCAP Jazz Advocate Award

Event will also celebrate recipients of the 2014 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards

New York, NY, June 2, 2014: ASCAP President & Chairman Paul Williams announced today that ASCAP will add five music greats to the ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame on Monday, June 9th, 2014. The invitation-only event will be hosted by Williams at the NYIT (New York Institute of Technology) Auditorium at 1871 Broadway (between 61st and 62nd Streets) in Manhattan beginning at 5:00 PM.

The event will be highlighted by the induction of five giants of jazz: Living legends Kenny Burrell, Dick Hyman and Helen Merrill, and posthumous honorees Bessie Smith and Juan Tizol. Participating in the event as presenters and/or performers will be: Alan Bergman, Jay Leonhart, Russell Malone, Ted Rosenthal, Vaneese Thomas, Steve Turre and surprise guests.

Acclaimed jazz vocalist and songwriter Gregory Porter will be presented with The ASCAP Foundation Jazz Vanguard Award for his innovative music. This Award is made possible by a grant from the Louis Armstrong Educational Foundation.

The inaugural ASCAP Jazz Advocate Award will recognize the decades of tireless effort to provide recognition and funding for jazz by Michigan Congressman John Conyers, Jr.

The ASCAP Jazz Wall Panel members are: Alan Bergman, Jay Leonhart and Rufus Reid.

The reception will also celebrate the recipients of the 2014 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards. The ASCAP Foundation program was established in 2002 to encourage the jazz creators of the future. The Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards recognize composers less than 30 years of age whose works are selected through a national competition. The program is supported by the Herb Alpert Foundation and The ASCAP Foundation Bart Howard Fund. The event will feature a performance by jazz composer, arranger and pianist Erica Seguine, recipient of The ASCAP Foundation Johnny Mandel Prize.

The 2014 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award recipients are listed with their age, current residence and place of origin: Nii Akwei Adoteye, age 27 of Washington, DC (Alexandria, VA); Michael Caudill, age 22 of Amherst, MA (Loveland, CO); Mike Conrad, age 25 of Waterloo, IA (Arlington Heights, IL); Addison Frei, age 22 of Oviedo, FL (Lawrence, KS); Walter Gorra, age 20 of Glenwood Springs, CO (Glendale, CA); Nicolas Hetko, age 22 of Miami, FL (Albany, NY); Daniel Kaneyuki, age 26 of Fountain Valley, CA (Huntington Beach, CA); Keith Karns, age 28 of Denton, TX (North Pole, Alaska); Martha Kato, age 24 of Brooklyn, NY (Nagoya, Japan); John Kosch, age 20 of Lincoln, NE; Paul Krueger, age 27 of Eugene, OR (Lincoln, NE); Rafael de Lima, age 28 of Miami, FL (Campinas, San Paolo, Brazil); Sara McDonald, age 22 of Brooklyn, NY (Bethesda, MD); Josh Shpak, age 20 of Boston, MA (Walnut Creek, CA); Andrew Schiller, age 24 of Boston, MA (Norfolk, VA); Jeff Schneider, age 26 of New York, NY (Bridgeport, CT); Erica Seguine, age 26 of Bloomfield, NJ (Albany, NY); Todd Simon, age 28 of Annapolis, MD (Dover, DE); Martin Terens, age 28 of New York, NY (Hamburg, Germany); Zan Tetickovic, age 22 of Brooklyn, NY (Ptuj, Slovenia); Zac Zinger, age 25 of Woodside, NY (Sewickley, PA); Christopher Zuar, age 26 of New York, NY; and Nicole Zuraitis, age 29 of Brooklyn, NY (Waterbury, CT).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composers, ages 11 to 18 are: Esteban Castro, age 11 (NY); Michael Orenstein, age 18 of Berkeley, CA (Oberlin, OH); and Tissiana Vallecillo, age 12 (AZ) and Matt Wong, age 15 (CA).

Composers receiving Honorable Mention are: Coyote Anderson, age 25 of New York, NY (Glen Stey, NY); Dominic Bierenga, age 19 of Mount Pleasant, MI (Grand Rapids, MI); Jake Chapman, age 19 of New York, NY (Los Angeles, CA); Jodie Landau, age 21 of Sherman Oaks, CA; David Meder, age 23 of New York, NY (Tampa, FL); Caili O’Doherty, age 22 of New York, NY (Portland, OR); Jeremy Siskind, age 27 of Kalamazoo, MI (Irvine, CA) and Benjamin Tiberio, age 22 of Miami, FL (Rochester, NY).

The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2014 competition were: Ken Hatfield, Rufus Reid and Sachal Vasandani.

For more information on the ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame, click below.

About The Herb Alpert Foundation
Herb Alpert, music icon, accomplished sculpture, painter and philanthropist, continues his life-long passion to push the boundaries of his own art and music. With his wife Grammy Award winning singer Lani Hall, they oversee the Herb Alpert Foundation's commitment to a wide range of programs in the fields of Arts, Arts Education and Compassion and Well Being. Some of the Foundation's significant commitments include the 2007 formation of the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music, devoted to the performance and study of music in all of its global diversity, as well as the Herb Alpert School of Music at CalArts, the Herb Alpert Scholarships for Emerging Young Artists, and the PS Arts Lawndale Elementary School District Initiative, which has brought arts education to four thousand children annually for the past eight years. The Herb Alpert Foundation is a non-profit, private foundation established in the late 1980's and its scope of funding is directed toward projects in which Herb, Lani and Foundation President Rona Sebastian play an active role. [The Foundation does not accept unsolicited proposals.]

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org

About Bart Howard
Bart Howard, a native of Burlington, Iowa, was a prolific composer who wrote over 200 songs, most notably the famous standard, "Fly Me to the Moon," which has been performed by hundreds of singers including Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Peggy Lee, Nancy Wilson and Diana Krall. Howard began his career as an accompanist at the age of 16 and played for Mabel Mercer, Johnny Mathis and Eartha Kitt among others. He died in 2004.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP's mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world's best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business - from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With 700,000 members representing more than 11.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. www.ascap.com

# # #

Press Contacts:
Bobbi Marcus
Bobbi Marcus PR & Events, Inc.
(310) 889-9200

Tim Hayes
(212) 621-8414