November 26, 2013

ASCAP Adds Four Music Greats to Jazz Wall of Fame

New inductees are living legends Ornette Coleman and Arturo Sandoval and jazz giants of the past Cab Calloway and Charles Mingus

Esperanza Spalding to be recognized with the ASCAP Foundation Jazz Vanguard Award

Event will also celebrate recipients of the 2013 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards

New York, NY, November 26, 2013: ASCAP President & Chairman Paul Williams announced today that ASCAP will add four music greats to the ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame on Monday, December 9th, 2013. The invitation-only event will be hosted by Williams at ASCAP’s New York City offices (Broadway between 63rd and 64th Streets) in Manhattan beginning at 4:30 PM.

The event will be highlighted by the induction of four giants of jazz: Living legends Ornette Coleman and Arturo Sandoval, and posthumous honorees: Cab Calloway and Charles Mingus. Participating in the event as presenters and/or performers will be: Chris Calloway Brooks, Roy Campbell Jr., Denardo Coleman, Tony Falanga, Boris Kozlov, Al Macdowell, Jay Leonhart and Rufus Reid.

In addition, acclaimed jazz bassist, vocalist and composer Esperanza Spalding will be presented with the ASCAP Foundation Jazz Vanguard Award for her innovative music.

The ASCAP Jazz Wall Panel members are: Alan Bergman, Jay Leonhart and Rufus Reid.

The reception will also celebrate the recipients of the 2013 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards. The ASCAP Foundation program was established in 2002 to encourage the jazz creators of the future. The Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Awards recognize composers less than 30 years of age whose works are selected through a national competition. The program is supported by the Herb Alpert Foundation and the Bart Howard Estate. The event will feature a performance by Zac Zinger, recipient of the first-ever ASCAP Foundation Johnny Mandel Prize.

The 2013 Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award recipients are listed with their age, current residence and place of origin: Nii Akwei Adoteye, age 26 of South Miami, FL (Springfield, VA); Quentin Angus, age 25 of New York, NY (Mount Pleasant, Australia); Elliot Deutsch, age 29 of Pasadena, CA (Tarzana, CA); Angelo Di Loreto, age 22 of New York, NY (Buffalo, NY); Shaul Einav, age 30 of Queens, New York (Israel); Nick Finzer, age 24 of New York, NY (Rochester, NY); Addison Frei, age 21 of Denton, TX (Lawrence, KS); Alexander Goodman, age 25 of New York, NY (Toronto, Canada); Aaron Hedenstrom, age 24 of Denton, TX (Maseru, Lesotho); George Heid III, age 22 of Pittsburgh, PA (Lewes, DE); Kristopher Johnson, age 29 of Ferndale, MI (Detroit, MI); Daniel Kaneyuki, age 25 of Fountain Valley, CA (Huntington Beach, CA); Grace Kelly, age 20 of Dover, MA (Wellesley, MA); Paul Krueger, age 25 of Sioux Falls, SD (Lincoln, NE); Pascal Le Boeuf, age 26 of New York, NY (Santa Cruz, CA); Guy Mintus, age 21 of New York, NY (Tel Aviv, Israel); Aakash Mittal, age 27 of Boulder, CO (Plano, TX); Robert Perez, age 19 of Chino Hills, CA (Covina, CA); Dan Pugach, age 29 of Brooklyn, NY (Raanana, Israel); ArcoIris Sandoval, age 25 of New York, NY (Tucson, AZ); Kavita Shah, age 27 of New York, NY; Camille Thurman, age 26 of New York, NY (Queens, NY); Drew Zaremba, age 21 of Southlake, TX (Little Rock, AR); and Zac Zinger, age 24 of Brooklyn, NY (Sewickley, PA).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composers, ages 10 to 18 are: Paul Bloom, age 18 (CA); Esteban Castro, age 10 (NY); Marc Harris, age 17 (CA); Albert Newberry, age 13 (VA); Adam O'Farrill, age 18 (NY); and Tissiana Vallecillo, age 11 (AZ).

Composers receiving Honorable Mention are: Glenda del Monte Escalante, age 29 of Miami, FL (Havana, Cuba); Andrew Linn, age 24 of New York, NY (Laramie, WY); Curtis Ostle, age 28 of New York, NY (Washington, D.C.); Jonathan Parker, age 26 of Rochester, NY (Washington, D.C.); Andrew Rowan, age 26 of Valencia, CA (New Rochelle, NY); and Nathan Parker Smith, age 29 of Brooklyn, NY (Arcata, CA).

The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2013 competition were: Anat Cohen, Wycliffe Gordon and Jay Leonhart.

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.

About Herb Alpert
Herb Alpert was born in Los Angeles and grew up in a house filled with music. He began his philanthropy in 1982, and with his wife, singer Lani Hall, oversees the Herb Alpert Foundation's commitment to funding the arts and education programs, as well as programs that promote compassion and well-being. The Foundation's significant commitments include the 2007 formation of the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music, devoted to the performance and study of music in all of its global diversity, as well as the Herb Alpert School of Music at CalArts, the Herb Alpert Scholarships for Emerging Young Artists, and the PS Arts Lawndale Elementary School District Initiative, which has brought arts education to more than four thousand children annually for the past seven years.

The Herb Alpert Foundation, a non-profit, private foundation established in the early 1980's, makes significant annual contributions to a range of programs in the fields of Arts, Arts Education and Compassion and Well Being. Its funding is directed toward projects in which Herb and Lani Alpert and Foundation President Rona Sebastian play an active role. [The Foundation does not accept unsolicited proposals.]

Bart Howard, a native of Burlington, Iowa, was a prolific composer who wrote over 200 songs, most notably the famous standard, "Fly Me to the Moon," which has been performed by hundreds of singers including Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Peggy Lee, Nancy Wilson and Diana Krall. Howard began his career as an accompanist at the age of 16 and played for Mabel Mercer, Johnny Mathis and Eartha Kitt among others. He died in 2004.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP’s mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world’s best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it to add value to their business – from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With over 470,000 members representing more than 8.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. 

# # # 

Press Contacts:
Bobbi Marcus
Bobbi Marcus PR & Events, Inc.
(310) 889-9200

Tim Hayes
(212) 621-8414