March 28, 2013

The ASCAP Foundation Names Recipients of the 2013 Morton Gould Young Composers Awards

Morton Gould

Morton Gould

New York, NY, March 28, 2013: ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams has announced the recipients of the 2013 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. The young composers will be recognized at the annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards at Merkin Concert Hall in New York on May 17th, 2013.

Congratulating the Award recipients, Paul Williams said, "The ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards program provides recognition and cash awards to gifted young composers of Concert Music. This year, our dedicated jury selected 28 composers between the ages of 8 to 30 years of age from nearly 600 submissions. We thank our ASCAP composer judges for their efforts to select these talented young creators, who represent the bright future of American Concert Music."

The ASCAP composer/judges were: Derek Bermel, Lisa Bielawa, Steven Burke, Chen Yi, Doug Geers, Yotam Haber and Aleksandra Vrebalov.

Established in 1979 with funding from the Jack and Amy Norworth Fund, The ASCAP Foundation Young Composer Awards program grants cash prizes to Concert Music composers up to 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition. These composers may be American citizens, permanent residents or students possessing U.S. Student Visas.

Morton Gould, a Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, served as President of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986-1994. Born on December 10th, 1913, this year marks Morton Gould’s 100th Anniversary. Gould, an eminent and versatile American composer, was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. To honor Gould’s lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators, the annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to his memory, following his death in 1996.

The award-winning composers share prizes of over $45,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor; the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger; and grants from The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth Fund. Jack Norworth wrote such standards as "Shine On Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame." Award recipients receive complimentary copies of Sibelius software, generously donated by Avid, the company that creates technology that people use to make the most listened to, most watched and most loved media in the world.

The 2013 Morton Gould Young Composer Award recipients are listed with their current residence and place of origin: Samuel Carl Adams of Brooklyn, NY (San Francisco, CA); Timothy Andres of Brooklyn, NY (Palo Alto, CA); Tyler Capp of Kansas City, MO (Harrisburg, PA); Ryan Chase of Bloomington, IN (Port Jefferson, NY); Yie Eun Chun of Bloomington, IN (South Korea); Francisco Cortés-Álvarez of Bloomington, IN (Mexico City, Mexico); Viet Cuong of Princeton, NJ (West Hills, CA); Tamzin Elliott of Annandale on Hudson, NY (Beverly Hills, CA); Stephen Feigenbaum of Winchester, MA (Cambridge, MA); Michael Gilbertson of New Haven, CT (Dubuque, IA); Takuma Itoh of Honolulu, HI (Japan); John Liberatore of Rochester, NY (Auburn, NY); Loren Loiacono of Ithaca, NY (Port Jefferson, NY); Yangzhi Ma of New York, NY (China); Sky Macklay of New York, NY (Waseca, MN); Maxwell McKee of Red Hook, NY (Hackensack, NJ); Garth Neustadter of Pasadena, CA (Green Bay, WI); Brendon Randall-Myers of New Haven, CT (Northampton, MA); Matthew Ricketts of New York, NY (Victoria, British Columbia, Canada); Gabriella Smith of El Cerrito, CA (Berkeley, CA); and Gabriel Zucker of Boston, MA (New York, NY).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer Award recipients range in age from 8 to 18 and are listed by state of residence: Jaehyuck Choi, age 18 (MA); Stella Gitelman-Willoughby, age 12 (MA); Huang Tiange, age 8 (NY); Grant Luhmann, age 18 (MN); Michael D. Parsons, age 16 (NJ); Lawrence Suh, age 17 (MD); and Renata Vallecillo, age 13 (AZ).

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Douglas Buchanan of Cockeysville, MD (Westfield, NY); Melody Eotvos of Bloomington, IN (Australia); Paul Frucht of New York, NY; Ian Gottlieb of Los Angeles, CA (Santa Monica, CA); Michael Ippolito of New York, NY (Tampa, FL); Matthew Peterson of Stockholm, Sweden (Grand Forks, ND) John W. Snyder of Santa Monica, CA (Temple City, CA); Fay (Feinan) Wang of Boston, MA (Beijing, China); Alex Weston of New York, NY (Chatham, New Jersey) and Conrad Winslow of Brooklyn, NY (Homer, Alaska).

Honorable Mention in the youngest category: Isaac Allen, age 15 (CO); Graham Cohen, age 13 (NJ); Noah Kahrs, age 17 (PA); Jae Lee, age 18 (GA) Nicholas McConnell, age 14 (NJ); and J.P. Redmond, age 13 (NY).

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.


Press Contact:
Tim Hayes