January 07, 2013

17th Annual ASCAP Foundation Awards Ceremony Highlighted by Champion Award to Superstar Jason Mraz

Recognizing His Commitment to Using Music to Help Others

New York, December 12, 2012. The ASCAP Foundation honored multi-Grammy Award-winning artist Jason Mraz with The ASCAP Foundation Champion Award for his longtime leadership in such social causes as human equality, environmental protection, arts education and assisting people with spinal cord injuries. Previous recipients of the Champion Award include Billy Joel, John Mellencamp, Judy Collins, Arlo Guthrie and Tony Bennett and Susan Bennedetto.

The accolade was presented during the Foundation's 17th Annual Awards Ceremony, held at The Allen Room, Jazz at Lincoln Center's Frederick P. Rose Hall, Time Warner Center, New York City. The invitation-only event, hosted by ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams, also honored a wide variety of Scholarship and Award recipients, all of whom benefit from programs of The ASCAP Foundation.
Hailed as one of today's most gifted pop troubadours, Jason Mraz is a photographer, activist, surfer, yogi, student, and teacher. Jason has taken his musical journey from coffee houses to stadiums globally and now has two Grammy Awards and six Grammy nominations to his credit. Mraz's WE SING. WE DANCE. WE STEAL THINGS. proved a global blockbuster, earning numerous platinum certifications worldwide. One of the album's hit songs, "I'm Yours" was a momentous #1 smash in many formats around the world, earning ASCAP's 2010 "Song of the Year" award while also setting the record for the longest-running song in the 51-year history of Billboard's "Hot 100." "I Won't Give Up," Mraz's most recent single from his new album Love Is A Four Letter Word, is also proving to be a hit, approaching 5 million in worldwide sales. In addition, Mraz has been feted with a number of other honors, including the Songwriters Hall of Fame's esteemed "Hal David Starlight Award," presented to gifted songwriters who are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs.

As a social activist, Mraz has worked closely with such groups as Surfrider Foundation, Free the Slaves, and the True Colors Fund, and has actively supported VH1's Save the Music, Free the Children, SPARC, (the School of the Performing Arts in the Richmond Community), MusiCares, and Life Rolls On (an organization devoted to improving the lives of young people affected by spinal cord injuries. He is an outspoken advocate for a clean environment, sustainable energy, education and human equality, recently creating the Jason Mraz Foundation to help sustain organizations aligned with his pillars of service. This month, Mraz will make an historic appearance in Myanmar, becoming the first international artist to ever perform an open-air show in the country. The show, in partnership with MTV Exit, will serve to raise awareness of human trafficking, yet another cause Mraz will lend his humanitarian voice to.

Commenting on the award to Mraz, Paul Williams said, "Jason Mraz is one of our most gifted and successful contemporary songwriter-artists. I've come to know Jason as a man as giving as he is gifted. Committed to improving the lives of his fellow human beings - whether through environmental activism, speaking out for the rights of the Gay and Lesbian community or working to make a difference for those afflicted with spinal cord injuries, he is richly deserving of The ASCAP Foundation Champion Award."

The evening was highlighted by musical performances by Jason Mraz, Harold Adamson Award recipient John Fullbright, Jay Gorney Award-winner Dustin James, Mariana & Paul Williams Sunlight of the Spirit Award recipient Rob Turrell, Joe Raposo Award winners Andrew Barkan & Polly Hall, Jimmy Van Heusen Award/ Herb Alpert Young Jazz Composer Award winner Chase Morrin and Reach Out and Touch Award recipient KimberlyNichole. In addition, Broadway stars Matt Cavenaugh and Michael Rose performed a song by Richard Rodgers New Horizons Award recipients Michael Weiner & Alan Zachary.

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs for songwriters, composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org

# # #


2012 Award and Scholarship Recipients

Harold Adamson Lyric Award
John Fullbright
Mike Pettry

Robert Allen Award
Kate Davis

Harold Arlen Award
Roman Kariolou - Film & TV

Louis Armstrong Scholarship at Queens College
Carsten Rubeling

Louis Armstrong Scholarship Honoring W.C. Handy
Jameil White

Louis Armstrong Scholarship at the University of New Orleans
Kristofer Tokarski

"Reach Out and Touch" Award in honor of Nick Ashford

Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship
Tengku Ahmad Irfan

Irving Berlin Summer Camp Scholarship
Mona Dinal

Leonard Bernstein Award
Ted Hearne

Freddy Bienstock Scholarship & Internship
Morgan Gusby

Boosey & Hawkes Young Composer Award Honoring Aaron Copland
Eli Greenhoe

Leon Brettler Award
Jacob Davis

Irving Burgie Scholarship
Jordan Childs

BMG Chrysalis Scholarship in Honor of Quincy Jones
Deborah Pierre

Leo Kaplan Award
William David Cooper

Steve Kaplan TV & Film Studies Scholarship
Vidjay Beerepoot

Michelle & Dean Kay Award
Nicholas Jacobson-Larson

Leiber & Stoller Music Scholarship
Zach Darf, Mayu Isom

Livingston & Evans Music Scholarship
Nathan Kirchhoff

Frederick Loewe Scholarship
Will Buck

Barbara & John LoFrumento Award
Music Conservatory of Westchester
Music Therapy Institute,
Eastchester School District

Henry Mancini Music Fellowship
Nicholas Britell

Vic Mizzy Scholarship
Curt Dumas

Rudolf Nissim Prize
Gene Koshinski

Rudy Perez Songwriting Scholarship
Dorian Gomez

Cole Porter Award
Tommy Newman

Louis Prima Award
Miles Berry

Joe Raposo Children's Music Award
Andrew Barkan, Polly Hall

Joan & Irwin Robinson Scholarship
Paul McPherson

Richard Rodgers New Horizons Award
Michael Weiner, Alan Zachary

Irving Caesar Scholarships
Alexander Castillo, Gordan Lam

Sammy Cahn Award
k.s. Rhoads

Desmond Child Anthem Award
Ari Zizzo

Eunice & Hal David Merit Award
Los Angeles County High School for the Arts

Fran Morgenstern Davis Scholarship
Ben Benack, Christopher Lilley

John Denver Music Scholarships
Supported by BMG Chrysalis
Andrea Fantauzzi, Eyeshia McSwain,
Mary Willingham

Film Scoring Scholarship
at Berklee College of Music
Wayne Ingram

Jamie deRoy & friends Award
Michele Brourman

Louis Dreyfus Warner/Chappell
City College Scholarship
Honoring George & Ira Gershwin
Shy Kedmi

Max Dreyfus Scholarship
John Grimmett

Ira Gershwin Scholarship
Adam Ali

Jay Gorney Award
Dustin James

Mary Rodgers Lorenz Hart Award
Marcy Heisler

Bart Howard Songwriting Scholarship at Berklee College of Music
Caitlin Timmins

David Rose Award
Garth Neustadter

Jimmy Van Heusen Award
Chase Morrin

Mariana & Paul Williams
Sunlight of the Spirit Award
Rob Turrell