June 05, 2012

ASCAP to Host 50th Country Music Awards on October 29th

Gaylord Opryland Event Kicks Off CMA Awards Week

Nashville, TN, June 5, 2012: ASCAP (The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) will host its 50th Annual Country Music Awards on Monday, October 29th, 2012 at the Gaylord Opryland Resort and Convention Center. The invitation-only gala will honor the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP's most performed Country songs from April 1, 2011 through March 31, 2012. ASCAP's annual celebration of its Country songwriters once again marks the beginning of a busy week in Nashville, which culminates with the 46th Annual Country Music Association Awards on Thursday, November 1st.

"We are very proud to honor the songwriters, publishers and artists behind Country music's biggest hits. It truly is an honor to recognize the incredible achievements of our uniquely talented songwriting community," said Marc Driskill, Vice President and General Manager, ASCAP Nashville.

The 50th ASCAP Country Music Awards will include the announcements of the Songwriter of the Year, Songwriter/Artist of the Year, Song of the Year and Publisher of the Year. The evening will feature live performances of the top five most performed songs of 2011 by the award-winning songwriters as well as the artists who recorded them. Special awards will be given out to recognize the leaders and legends of Nashville's songwriting community.

Established in 1914, ASCAP is the first and leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization (PRO) representing the world's largest repertory, totaling over 8.5 million copyrighted musical works of every style and genre from more than 435,000 songwriter, composer and music publisher members. ASCAP has representation arrangements with similar foreign organizations so that the ASCAP repertory is represented in nearly every country around the world where copyright law exists. ASCAP protects the rights of its members and foreign affiliates by licensing the public performances of their copyrighted works and distributing royalties based upon surveyed performances. ASCAP is the only American PRO owned and governed by its writer and publisher members. www.ascap.com


Alison Toczylowski - ASCAP
Director of Communications & Media

Ronna Rubin - Rubin Media