March 21, 2012

Claudia Brant and Anthony "Romeo" Santos Named Songwriters of the Year at the 20th Annual ASCAP Latin Music Awards

Marc Anthony Honored with ASCAP's Founders Award

"Di Que Regresarás" Named Latin Song of the Year

Sony/ATV Discos Music Publishing, Pacific Latin Copyright Receive Publisher of the Year Awards

For complete coverage of ASCAP's 2012 Latin Music Awards, please click here.

Los Angeles, CA - March 20, 2012: Claudia Brant and Anthony "Romeo" Santos received Songwriter of the Year honors at the 20th annual ASCAP Latin Music Awards, held tonight at The Beverly Hilton Hotel in Los Angeles, CA. Singer/songwriter/producer Marc Anthony was presented with the ASCAP Founders Award, "Di Que Regresarás" was named Latin Song of the Year, Sony/ATV Discos Music Publishing received the Publisher of the Year Award, and Pacific Latin Copyright won the Independent Publisher of the Year Award. The songwriters and publishers of ASCAP’s most performed songs in Latin Music in 2011 were also honored during the invite-only awards ceremony, sponsored by Kohl’s.

Univision's radio personality Carlos Alvarez hosted the all-star gathering, which featured performances by some of Latin music's hottest stars including Alejandra Guzmán, Claudia Brant, Ferra, Frankie J, Luis Fonsi, Natalia Jimenez, Noel Schajris, Oscar and Armando (La Mafia), Pia Toscano, Victor Manuelle, and 3Bal.

Other luminaries in attendance were Andrés Cabas, Christian Chavez, Conjunto Atardecer, David and Victoria Beckham, Dexter, Diana Reyes. El Bebeto, Elias Medina, George Lopez, Julio Ramirez (Reik), Jose Doejo, Mista Greenzz, Pia Toscano, Red One, Simon Fuller, Voz de Mando, Wise, and others.

ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams was joined by acclaimed sports star David Beckham to present the ASCAP Founders Award to Marc Anthony. The Founders Award is the most prestigious honor that the organization presents to its members, and is given to songwriters and composers who have made pioneering contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators. Each recipient is a musical innovator who possesses a unique style of creative genius that will enrich generations to come. Past recipients include Rod Stewart, Patti Smith, Annie Lenox, Rubén Blades, James Taylor, Neil Young, Garth Brooks, Joni Mitchell, Billy Joel, Bob Dylan, Paul McCartney and Stevie Wonder, among others. As part of the tribute, Anthony was honored in song by his friends and fellow music creators Natalia Jimenez, Pia Toscano, La Mafia's Oscar and Armando, and Victor Manuelle.

Williams also presented the “Songwriter of the Year Award” to Claudia Brant This is the first time that Brant receives this recognition from the performing rights society. A musical tribute was also presented to Brant by fellow music creators Luis Fonsi, Noel Schajris, and Frankie J.

ASCAP CEO John LoFrumento presented the Independent Publisher of the Year award to Pacific Latin Copyright (with 8-winning songs) and the Publisher of the Year award to Sony/ATV Discos Music Publishing (with 29-winning songs). ASCAP Executive Vice President, Membership, Randy Grimmett, and ASCAP Vice President, Membership – Latin, Alexandra Lioutikoff, handed out the award for Latin Song of the Year to "Di Que Regresarás" (written by Carlos M. Ferraresi “Ferra”, published by Tres Islas Music and Canción Animal Publishing).

Awards were also presented throughout the evening in the following categories: Pop, Tropical, Regional Mexican, Urban, and Television.

For complete coverage of ASCAP's 2012 Latin Music Awards, please click here.

Press Contact:
Blanca Lasalle – Creativelink
tel:(212) 684-6001

Alison Toczylowski – ASCAP
(212) 621-6524