June 09, 2011

ASCAP to Add Five Music Greats to Jazz Wall of Fame


Omer Avital to Be Recognized with The ASCAP Jazz Vanguard Award

Event will also Celebrate Recipients of the Ninth Annual ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards

New York, NY, June 9, 2011: ASCAP President & Chairman Paul Williams has announced that ASCAP will add five music greats to the ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame on Monday, June 13, 2011. The invitation-only event will be hosted by Mr. Williams at ASCAP’s New York City offices (Broadway between 63rd and 64th Streets) in Manhattan beginning at 5:00 PM.

The event will be highlighted by the induction of five giants of Jazz: Living Legends Jimmy Heath and George Avakian and posthumous honorees: Oscar Peterson, Mel Powell and Nina Simone. Participating in the event as presenters and/or performers will be: Alan & Marilyn Bergman, Gordon Au, Gerald Clayton, Vince Giordano, David Ostwald, Jason Lindner, Somi, Aaron Diehl, Ted Piltzecker and Roland Vazquez.

In addition, acclaimed Jazz bassist and composer Omer Avital will be presented with the ASCAP Jazz Vanguard Award for his innovative musical activity.

The ASCAP Jazz Wall Panel members are: Alan Bergman, John Clayton and Johnny Mandel.

The reception will also celebrate the recipients of the ninth annual ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards, including a performance by Nick Grondin. The program was established in 2002 to encourage the jazz creators of the future. The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards recognize composers less than 30 years of age whose works are selected through a national competition. The program is supported in part by The Gibson Foundation and the Bart Howard Estate.

This year's ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award recipients, ages 18-29, are: Mariel Berger, 29 (Brooklyn, NY); Sebastian Boehlen, 24 (New York, NY); Brent Canter, 24 (New York, NY); Daniel Cole, 29 (Los Angeles, CA); Angelo DiLoreto, 20 (New York, NY); Shaul Einav, 28, (New York, NY); Halley Elwell, 27 (San Francisco, CA); Nick Grondin, 28 (Boston, MA); Miho Hazama, 24 (New York, NY); Florian Höfner, 28 (New York, NY/ Germany); Daniel Jamieson, 24 (New York, NY), Noah Kellman, 19 (Fayetteville, NY); Grace Kelly, 18 (Dover, MA); Nate Kimball, 26 (Las Vegas, NV); Brian Krock, 21 (Urbana, IL); Joshua Kwassman, 22 New York, NY); Pascal LeBoeuf, 24 (New York, NY); Robby Marshall, 26 (Los Angeles, CA); Garth Neustadter, 24 (New Haven, CT); Andrew J. Oliver, 26 (Portland, OR); Julian Pollack, 22, (New York, NY); Dan Pugach, 27 (Brooklyn, NY); Levi Saelua, 20 (Rochester, NY); Erica Seguine, 23 (Parsippany, NJ); Sonia Szajnberg, 27 (Brooklyn, NY); Benjamin Taylor, 27, (Bowling Green, OH); and Erica von Kleist, 28 (Brooklyn, NY).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composers, ages 15 to 17, are: Phillip Golub, 17 (CA); Patrick McGee, 14 (PA); Renata Vallecillo, 11 (AZ); and Tissiana Vallecillo, 9 (AZ).

Composers receiving Honorable Mention are: Annie Booth, 21 (Westminster, CO); Mark DeSimone, 29 (San Jose, CA); Brett McDonald, 22 (New Brunswick, NJ); Scott Ninmer, 22 (Taylorville, IL); Michael L. Schachter, 23 (Ann Arbor, MI); and Stefan Schmid, 26 (New York, NY).

The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2011 competition were: Wycliffe Gordon, Ted Piltzecker and Roland Vazquez.

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org

The Gibson Foundation, the philanthropic division of musical giant Gibson Guitar Corp., supports The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards in fulfillment of its commitment to educational excellence through music and the arts. Founded in 2002, the Gibson Foundation is committed to making the world a better place for children through its own initiatives and by its support of other non-profit organizations that advance music and the arts, health and welfare, education, and environmental causes. The impact of the support provided by the Gibson Foundation benefits millions of people each year. www.gibsonfoundation.org

Bart Howard, a native of Burlington, Iowa, was a prolific composer who wrote over 200 songs, most notably the famous standard, "Fly Me To The Moon," which has been performed by hundreds of singers including Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Peggy Lee, Nancy Wilson and Diana Krall. Howard began his career as an accompanist at the age of 16 and played for Mabel Mercer, Johnny Mathis and Eartha Kitt among others. He died in 2004.