May 10, 2011

12th Annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards to Be Held in NYC on May 24

Bill McGlaughlin

Bill McGlaughlin

Photo by Bill Richert


Zhou Long

Zhou Long


George Manahan

George Manahan

Photo by Richard Bowditch


Le Poisson Rouge
Justin Kantor & David Handler

Justin Kantor
& David Handler
Le Poisson Rouge (LPR)


Music Publishers Association

Lauren Keiser
President, Music Publishers Assocation


Face the Music
Jennifer Undercofler

Jennifer Undercofler

Photo by Meg Goldman

New York, NY, May 10, 2011: The 12th annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards will take place on Tuesday, May 24, 2011 at Merkin Concert Hall at the Kaufman Center in New York City. ASCAP member, radio host and composer/conductor Bill McGlaughlin will host the invitation-only event, which will recognize the achievements of ASCAP’s 2011 Concert Music Honorees who represent the diverse aesthetic spectrum of the concert music world.

Among the evening's presenters will be Mark Adamo, Derek Bermel, Lisa Bielawa, Steven Burke, John Corigliano, Daniel Felsenfeld, James M. Kendrick, Esq., Tamar Muskal, Stephen Paulus, Alex Shapiro, George Steel, Doug Wood, and ASCAP's John A. LoFrumento, Frances Richard, Cia Toscanini and Michael Spudic.

Those being honored this year are:

Zhou Long
ASCAP salutes distinguished Member, Zhou Long, awarded the 2011 Pulitzer Prize for Music for his opera, Madame White Snake.

George Manahan
ASCAP honors George Manahan, Music Director of the New York City Opera and the American Composers Orchestra, a conductor whose career-long advocacy for American composers and the music of our time has enriched and ennobled Concert Music both at home and abroad.

Le Poisson Rouge, David Handler and Justin Kantor, Co-Founders
ASCAP presents the Victor Herbert Award to David Handler and Justin Kantor, Co-Founders of Le Poisson Rouge, courageous and visionary impresarios for their commitment to creating an environment which invites audiences to share and enjoy adventurous programming of the full spectrum of music of our time.

Music Publishers Association, Lauren Keiser, President
ASCAP presents the Arnold Broido Award to the Music Publishers Association, Lauren Keiser, President. Champions of copyright protection, leaders in copyright education and generous supporters of the ASCAP Deems Taylor Awards.

Face The Music, Jennifer Undercofler, Founder, Artistic Director and Conductor
ASCAP presents the Aaron Copland Award to Face The Music and Jennifer Undercofler, for the artistry and passion with which they perform and champion the music of living composers.

Presentation of the 2011 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards.

The ASCAP Foundation program honors the late Pulitzer Prize-winning composer and former ASCAP Foundation President Morton Gould’s lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators. The award-winning composers share prizes of approximately $45,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor; the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger; and a grant from The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth Fund. Jack Norworth generously dedicated the royalties from his great standards, "Shine On Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame" to benefit gifted, emerging composers. Award recipients receive complimentary copies of Sibelius software, generously donated by Avid, the company that creates technology that people use to make the most listened to, most watched and most loved media in the world.

The 2011 Morton Gould Young Composer Award recipients are listed with their current residence, and place of origin: Timothy Andres of Brooklyn, NY (Palo Alto, CA); Kit Armstrong of Paris, France (Los Angeles, CA); Jeremy Howard Beck of New York, NY (Huntington, NY); David Biedenbender of Ann Arbor, MI (Waukesha, WI); Yuri Boguinia of New York, NY (Stavropol, Russia); Christopher Cerrone of Brooklyn, NY (Huntington, NY); Anthony Cheung of Cambridge, MA (San Francisco, CA); Sean Friar of Princeton, NJ (Santa Monica, CA); David Fulmer of New York, NY (Boston, MA); Ryan Gallagher of Ithaca, NY (Wooster, OH); Peng-Peng Gong of New York, NY (Nanjing, China); Eric Guinivan of Los Angeles, CA (Wilmington, DE); Takuma Itoh of Ithaca, NY (Hiratsuka, Japan); Paul Kerekes of New Haven, CT (Huntington, NY); Adrian Knight of New Haven, CT (Uppsala, Sweden); Hannah Lash of New York, NY (Alfred, NY); Jesse Limbacher of Cleveland, OH (Williamsburg, VA); Wei-Cheih Lin of New York, NY (Taichung, Taiwan); Lev Marquis of Los Angeles, CA (Langley, CA); Eric Nathan of Ithaca, NY (New York, NY; and Gity Razaz of New York, NY (Tehran, Iran).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer Award recipients range in age from 10 to 18 and are listed by state of residence: Eleanor Bragg, age 14 (MA); Eric M. Fisher, age 18 (IL); Andrew Hsu, age 16 (PA); Sidarth Jayadev, age 13 (NY); Jane Lange, age 12 (CA); Anna Larsen, age 10 (MA); Michael D. Parsons, age 15 (NJ); Travis M. Petre, age 16 (NY); and Conrad Tao, age 16 (NY).

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Anderson Freeman Alden of New Haven, CT ( Los Angeles, CA); Erica J. Ball of Haverton, PA (Bryn Mawr, PA); Francisco Castillo Trigueros of Chicago, IL (Mexico City, Mexico); Louis Chiappetta of Cleveland, OH (White Plains, NY); Paul Dooley Ann Arbor, MI (Santa Rosa, CA); Elizabeth A. Kelly of Los Altos Hills, CA (New York, NY); Elizabeth Anne Nonemaker Los Angeles, CA (Philadelphia, PA); Reinaldo Moya of New York, NY (Caracas, Venezuela); Elizabeth Ogonek of Los Angeles, CA ( Anoka, MN); Kate Soper of New York, NY ( Ann Arbor, MI); and Dan Visconti of Arlington, VA ( LaGrange, IL).

Honorable Mention in the youngest category: Graham Cohen, age 12 (NJ); Clark Evans, age16 (AZ); Thomas Feng, age 16 (CA); Zlatomir Y. C. Fung, age 11 (MA); Rachel Anna Kuznetsov, age 10 (MA); Yeeren I. Low, age 14 (PA); Nicholas C. McConnell, age 12 (NJ); and Pearl Ramke, age 11 (PA).

The 2011 ASCAP composer/judges were; Derek Bermel, Lisa Bielawa, Steven Burke, Sebastian Currier, Daniel Felsenfeld, Tamar Muskal, and Melinda Wagner.

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.