February 10, 2011

2011 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award Recipients Announced

New York, February 10, 2011: ASCAP Foundation President Paul Williams has announced the recipients of the 2011 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards. This program, established in 2002, was created to encourage gifted jazz composers from throughout the United States. The recipients, who receive cash awards, range in age from 9 to 29, and are selected through a juried national competition.

Commenting on the awards, Paul Williams said, "Jazz is America's great homegrown musical art form and the accomplished young composers we recognize through this program represent the future of jazz. We congratulate the recipients and extend thanks to the dedicated panel of ASCAP composers who selected the honorees."

This year's ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award recipients, ages 18-29, are: Mariel Berger, 29 (Brooklyn, NY); Sebastian Boehlen, 24 (New York, NY); Brent Canter, 24 (New York, NY); Daniel Cole, 29 (Los Angeles, CA); Angelo DiLoreto, 20 (New York, NY); Shaul Einav, 28, (New York, NY); Halley Elwell, 27 (San Francisco, CA); Nick Grondin, 28 (Boston, MA); Miho Hazama, 24 (New York, NY); Florian Hoefner, 28 (New York, NY/ Germany); Daniel Jamieson, 24 (New York, NY), Noah Kellman, 19 (Fayetteville, NY); Grace Kelly, 18 (Dover, MA); Nate Kimball, 26 (Las Vegas, NV); Brian Krock, 21 (Urbana, IL); Joshua Kwassman, 22 New York, NY); Pascal LeBoeuf, 24 (New York, NY); Robby Marshall, 26 (Los Angeles, CA); Garth Neustadter, 24 (New Haven, CT); Andrew J. Oliver, 26 (Portland, OR); Julian Pollack, 22, (New York, NY); Dan Pugach, 27 (Brooklyn, NY); Levi Saelua, 20 (Rochester, NY); Erica Seguine, 23 (Parsippany, NJ); Sonia Szajnberg, 27 (Brooklyn, NY); Benjamin Taylor, 27, (Bowling Green, OH); and Erica von Kleist, 28 (Brooklyn, NY).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composers, ages 15 to 17, are: Phillip Golub, 17 (CA); Patrick McGee, 14 (PA); Renata Vallecillo, 11 (AZ); and Tissiana Vallecillo, 9 (AZ).

Composers receiving Honorable Mention are: Annie Booth, 21 (Westminster, CO); Mark DeSimone, 29 (San Jose, CA); Brett McDonald, 22 (New Brunswick, NJ); Scott Ninmer, 22 (Taylorville, IL); Michael L. Schachter, 23 (Ann Arbor, MI); and Stefan Schmid, 26 (New York, NY).

The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2011 competition were: Wycliffe Gordon, Ted Piltzecker and Roland Vazquez.

The program is supported in part by The Gibson Foundation and the Bart Howard Estate.

The Gibson Foundation, the philanthropic division of musical giant Gibson Guitar Corp., supports The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards in fulfillment of its commitment to educational excellence through music and the arts. Founded in 2002, the Gibson Foundation is committed to making the world a better place for children through its own initiatives and by its support of other non-profit organizations that advance music and the arts, health and welfare, education, and environmental causes. The impact of the support provided by the Gibson Foundation benefits millions of people each year. www.gibsonfoundation.org

Bart Howard, a native of Burlington, Iowa, was a prolific composer who wrote over 200 songs, most notably the famous standard, "Fly Me To The Moon," which has been performed by hundreds of singers including Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Peggy Lee, Nancy Wilson and Diana Krall. Howard began his career as an accompanist at the age of 16 and played for Mabel Mercer, Johnny Mathis and Eartha Kitt among others. He died in 2004.