ASCAP to Add Five Music Greats to Jazz Wall of Fame

New Inductees are Living Legends Donald Fagen and Phil Woods and Jazz Giants Of The Past Eddie Lang, Thelonious Monk and Dinah Washington

John Hollenbeck to be Recognized with The ASCAP Foundation Vanguard Award

Event Will Also Celebrate Recipients of the Eighth Annual ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards, Sponsored by the Gibson Foundation

New York, NY, June 9, 2010: ASCAP President & Chairman Paul Williams has announced that ASCAP will add five music greats to the ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame on Monday, June 14, 2010. The invitation-only event will be hosted by Mr. Williams at ASCAP’s New York City offices (Broadway between 63 rd and 64 th Streets) in Manhattan beginning at 5:00 PM.

The event will be highlighted by the induction of five giants of Jazz: Living Legends Donald Fagen and Phil Woods;and posthumous honorees: Eddie Lang, Thelonious Monk and Dinah Washington. Participating in the event as presenters and/or performers will be: Alan & Marilyn Bergman, Fred Hersch, guitarist Julian Lage, Jay Leonhart, Johnny Mandel, Jaleel Shaw, Lillias White and Hal Willner.

In addition, acclaimed Jazz drummer and composer John Hollenbeck will be presented with The ASCAP Foundation Vanguard Award for his innovative musical activity.

The ASCAP Jazz Wall Panel members are: Alan Bergman, John Clayton and Johnny Mandel.

The reception will also celebrate the eighth annual ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards. The program was established in 2002 to encourage the jazz creators of the future. The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards recognize composers less than 30 years of age whose works are selected through a national competition. The program is supported in part by The Gibson Foundation and the Bart Howard Estate.

This year's ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award recipients, ages 18-29, are: Courtney Beadel, 23 (Cedar Falls, IA); Jon Crowley, 27 (Brooklyn, NY); Ben Darwish, 25 (Portland, OR); Jesse Elder, 26 (Brooklyn, NY); Tyler Gilmore, 29 (Denver, CO); Alex Heitlinger, 29, (Jamaica Plain, MA); Eric Hirsch, 25 (Durham, NC): Florian Hoefner, 27 (New York, NY); Josh Moshier, 23 (Chicago, IL); Gabriel Santiago, 29; Geoffrey Sheil, 22 (Tampa, FL); Brandon Sherman, 25 (Newhall, CA), Elijah Shiffer, 18 (Mount Vernon, NY); Nathan Smith, 26 (Brooklyn, NY); Erica von Kleist, 27 (Brooklyn, NY).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composers, ages 15 to 17, are: Divya Farias, 17 (NJ); Phillip Golub, 16 (CA); Grace Kelly, 17 (MA); Chase Morrin, 16 (CA); Benjamin Rosenblum, 16 (NY); Matt Savage, 17 (NH); and Laila Smith, 15 (CA).

Composers receiving Honorable Mention are: Fabian Almazan, 25 (New York, NY); Anton DeFade, 17 (PA); Michael Hurwitz, 28 (Coral Gables, FL); Jonathan Russell, 14 (NY); and Alex Sugerman, 17 (NY).

The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2010 competition were: Wycliffe Gordon, Rufus Reid and Henry Threadgill.

The Gibson Foundation , the philanthropic division of musical giant Gibson Guitar Corp., supports The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards in fulfillment of its commitment to educational excellence through music and the arts. Founded in 2002, the Gibson Foundation is committed to making the world a better place for children through its own initiatives and by its support of other non-profit organizations that advance music and the arts, health and welfare, education, and environmental causes. The impact of the support provided by the Gibson Foundation benefits millions of people each year.

Bart Howard , a native of Burlington, Iowa, was a prolific composer who wrote over 200 songs, most notably the famous standard, "Fly Me To The Moon," which has been performed by hundreds of singers including Frank Sinatra, Ella Fitzgerald, Peggy Lee, Nancy Wilson and Diana Krall. Howard began his career as an accompanist at the age of 16 and played for Mabel Mercer, Johnny Mathis and Eartha Kitt among others. He died in 2004.

About The ASCAP Foundation

Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.