ASCAP Honors Jennifer Higdon, Harold Rosenbaum, MATA, Peter Schickele
and ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composers
at 11th annual Concert Music Awards

New York, NY, May 27, 2010: The 11th annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards took place today at The Times Center in New York City. ASCAP member, radio host and performer Peter Schickele hosted the invitation-only event, which recognized the achievements of ASCAP's 2010 Concert Music Honorees who represent the diverse aesthetic spectrum of the concert music world. As a surprise to Schickele, ASCAP presented him with a special award to commemorate his 75th birthday.

Among the evening's presenters were Kathryn Alexander, Steven Burke, John Corigliano, Daniel Felsenfeld, Stephen Paulus, Philip Rothman, Peter Schickele, Melinda Wagner, Julia Wolfe, Doug Wood, and ASCAP's John A. LoFrumento, Frances Richard, Cia Toscanini and Michael Spudic.

Those being honored this year were:

  • Jennifer Higdon

    ASCAP salutes distinguished Member, Jennifer Hidgon, awarded the 2010 Pulitzer Prize for Music for her Violin Concerto and the 2010 Grammy Award for Best Classical Composition for her Percussion Concerto.

  • Harold Rosenbaum

    ASCAP presents the Victor Herbert Award to Harold Rosenbaum, Founder and Artistic Director of The New York Virtuoso Singers and The Canticum Novum Singers, in recognition of his contribution to the Choral Repertory, and his service to American composers and their music.

  • MATA

    ASCAP presents the Aaron Copland Award to MATA for the artistry and passion with which they champion, present and commission the music of the gifted young composers of our time. We honor the contribution of all of our MATA ASCAP Members: Executive Producer Philip Glass, Founding Directors Lisa Bielawa and Eleonor Sandresky, Executive Director Missy Mazzoli, Artistic Director Christopher McIntyre, and Director Designate Yotam Haber.

  • Peter Schickele

    ASCAP celebrates the 75th year of its distinguished Member Peter Schickele, whose gifts as a versatile Composer, Performer, Master Communicator, brilliant Radio Host, and incomparable Master of Ceremonies are beloved around the world.

  • Recipients of the 2010 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards were also presented and congratulated.

The ASCAP Foundation program honors the late Pulitzer Prize-winning composer and former ASCAP Foundation President Morton Gould's lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators. The award-winning composers share prizes of approximately $45,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor; the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger; and a grant from The ASCAP Foundation Jack and Amy Norworth Fund. Jack Norworth wrote such standards as "Shine On Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame." The Awards are also sponsored by Avid, the company who creates technology that people use to make the most listened to, most watched and most loved media in the world, which generously awards the recipients with a complimentary copy of Sibelius software.

The 2010 Morton Gould Young Composer Award recipients are listed with their current residence, and place of origin: Samuel Carl Adams of New Haven, CT (San Francisco, CA); Travis Alford of Watertown, MA (Rocky Mount, NC); Preben Antonsen of New Haven, CT (Berkeley, CA); Karl Blench of Houston, TX (Providence, RI); Stephen Cabell of New York, NY (Owensboro, KY); Christopher Cerrone New Haven, CT (Huntington, NY); Louis Chiappetta Cleveland, OH (White Plains, NY); Henry L. Dorn, III of Little Rock, AR; Ted Goldman of New York, NY; Takuma Itoh of Ithaca, NY (Hiratsuka, Japan); Adrian Knight of New Haven, CT (Stockholm, Sweden); Matti Kovler of Boston, MA (Jerusalem, Israel); Visnja Krzic of Los Angeles, CA (Belgrade, Serbia); Wlad Marhulets of New York, NY (Minsk, Belarus); Missy Mazzoli of Brooklyn, NY (Abington, PA); Eric Nathan of Ithaca, NY (New York, NY); Garth K. Neustadter of Manitowoc, WI (Green Bay, WI); Nicholas S. Omiccioli of South Kansas City, MO (Scott AFB, IL); Aaron Severini of New York, NY (Greenfield, MA); Jonathan Sokol of Bloomington, IN (Cleveland, OH); Christopher Stark of Ithaca, NY (St. Ignatius, MT); Wang Lu of New York, NY (Xi' an, China); Conrad Winslow of New York, NY (Homer, AK); Daniel Wohl of Brooklyn, NY (Paris, France); Peiying Yuan of Kansas City, MO (Singapore); and Zhou Juan of Kansas City, MO (Xinjiang, China).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer Award recipients range in age from 13 to 17 and are listed by state of residence: Tim Callobre, age 16 (CA); Thomas Feng, age 15 (CA); Phillip Golub, age 17 (CA); Peng-Peng Gong, age 17 (NY); Saad Haddad, age 17 (CA); Molly Joyce, age 17 (PA); Yeeren I. Low, age 13 (PA); Thomas Reeves, age 15 (NY); Conrad Tao, age 15 (NY); Daniel Valentine, age 17 (NV); and Robert Yaman, age 16 (MI).

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Carolyn Chen of La Jolla, CA (Red Bank, NJ); Stephen Feigenbaum of New Haven, CT (Winchester, MA); David Kirkland Garner of Durham, NC (Atlanta, GA); Aaron Gervais of San Francisco, CA (Edmonton, Canada); Polina Nazaykinskaya of New Haven, CT (Togliatti, Russia); Elizabeth Ogonek of Garfield, NJ (Anoka, MN); Gity H. Razaz of New York, NY (Tehran, Iran); Peter Thompson of Severna Park, MD (St. Paul, MN); and Feinan Wang of New Haven, CT (Zhejiang, China).

In the youngest category, the following composers received Honorable Mention: Yihan Chen, age 15 (IN); Graham Cohen, age 11 (AZ); Andrew Hsu, age 15 (PA); Timothy Laciano, age 16 (NJ); Siddarth Viswanathan, age 17 (NJ); and Seho Young, age 12 (MA).

The 2010 ASCAP composer/judges were Kathryn Alexander, Steven Burke, Chen Yi, Daniel Felsenfeld, Kamran Ince, Philip Rothman, Christopher Theofanidis, and Aleksandra Vrebalov.

Click here for more information.