27th annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards Celebrate Hitmakers at Star-Studded Event in Hollywood

Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald Named Songwriter of the Year, Jason Mraz Receives Song of the Year Award, EMI Music Publishing Named Publisher of the Year

Patti Smith and The Killers Receive Special Honors

Katy Perry, C. "Tricky" Stewart and Marcella Araica Collect Multiple Awards

Los Angeles, CA, April 21, 2010: ASCAP (the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers) hosted its 27th annual Pop Music Awards tonight at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel in Los Angeles, California. The star-studded event, which was attended by over 700 leading songwriters, recording artists and music industry leaders, paid special tribute to Patti Smith and The Killers, and honored the songwriters and publishers behind some of today's most popular music.

Top awards were presented to:

  • Songwriter of the Year: Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald
  • Song of the Year: "I'm Yours" by Jason Mraz
  • Publisher of the Year: EMI Music Publishing

Special awards were presented to rock icon Patti Smith who was honored with the ASCAP Founders Award and The Killers who received ASCAP's Vanguard Award. Awards were also presented to the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP's most performed pop songs of 2009.

The awards celebration featured several performances throughout the evening, including those by special honoree Patti Smith who performed with her band - Lenny Kaye, Jay Dee Daugherty and Tony Shanahan, and Song of the Year winner Jason Mraz who sang "I'm Yours." The All-American Rejects performed their hit "Gives You Hell," Flo Rida sang his Pop Award-winning hit "Right Round" and Jessi Alexander took to the stage to sing her award winner "The Climb" (a hit for Miley Cyrus).

ASCAP CEO John A. LoFrumento and ASCAP Senior Vice President, Domestic Membership Randy Grimmett presented Lukasz "Dr. Luke" Gottwald with his first-ever Songwriter of the Year award. The songwriter, performer, producer, remixer and hitmaker was responsible for penning five of the most performed songs of the past year: Britney Spears' "Circus," Katy Perry's "Hot N Cold," Kelly Clarkson's "My Life Would Suck Without You," Miley Cyrus' "Party In the USA," and Flo Rida's "Right Round."

Two-time Grammy Award winner Jason Mraz collected the Song of the Year award for "I'm Yours." At 76 weeks, the song holds the record for the most weeks spent on Billboard's Hot 100 charts.

ASCAP Publisher of the Year honors went to EMI Music Publishing who had 15 award-winning songs. ASCAP CEO John A. LoFrumento presented the award to EMI Music Publishing's Chairman and CEO Roger Faxon, President of North American Creative Big Jon Platt, Executive Vice President of North American Creative Dan McCarroll and EMI's executive team. This is the eighth consecutive win for EMI and the sixteenth time in the 27-year history of the awards show that they have received this honor.

ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams presented Patti Smith with ASCAP's Founders Award, which recognized Smith as "a songwriter, poet, trailblazer, and rock icon whose creative genius and rock 'n' roll spirit will continue to inspire generations to come."

The ASCAP Founders Award is among the most prestigious honors that ASCAP gives to songwriters and composers who have made pioneering contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators. Each recipient is a musical innovator who possesses a unique style of creative genius that will enrich generations to come. Past recipients include Bob Dylan, Jackson Browne, Elvis Costello, Heart's Ann & Nancy Wilson, Billy Joel, Annie Lennox, Sir Paul McCartney, Joni Mitchell, Smokey Robinson, Steely Dan, James Taylor, Tom Waits, Stevie Wonder and Neil Young.

Las Vegas quartet The Killers was presented with ASCAP's Vanguard Award, which recognizes the impact of musical genres that help shape the future of American music. All four members of the band - vocalist/keyboardist Brandon Flowers, guitarist Dave Keuning, bassist Mark Stoermer and drummer Ronnie Vannucci - were on hand to accept their award. Past ASCAP Vanguard Award honorees include Santigold, The All-American Rejects, Arcade Fire, The Mars Volta, Jack Johnson, The Strokes, Modest Mouse, Built To Spill, Beastie Boys, Nine Inch Nails, Beck, and Björk.

Many of the evening's winning songwriters were on hand to collect their awards, including C. "Tricky" Stewart who collected three awards for "Blame It," "Obsessed" and "Single Ladies," Katy Perry who picked up two awards for "Hot N Cold" and "Waking Up In Vegas," Marcella Araica who received two awards for "Knock You Down" and "Sober," and Matthew "Boi-1da" Samuels ("Best I Ever Had"), Andrea Martin (" Better In Time"), Jeremih and Keith James ("Birthday Sex"), Christopher "Deep" Henderson,Brandon "Note" Melancon and Nate Walka ("Blame It"), Matt Nathanson and Mark Weinberg ("Come On Get Higher"), Dot Da Genius ("Day 'N' Nite"), Rob Knox ("Dead and Gone"), Jared Cotter, Robert "Bobbybass" Larow and Jeremy Skaller ("Down"), Al Shux and Janet "Jnay" Sewell-Ulepic ("Empire State of Mind"), Jae Millz, Carl "Gudda Gudda" Lilly, Mack Maine and Christopher "Dow Jones" Whitacre ("Every Girl In the World"), The All-American Rejects' Tyson Ritter and Nick Wheeler ("Gives You Hell"), Malik Yusef ("Heartless"), Edward Bello "El Cata," Stefano Bosco, Nicola Fasano, Patrick Gonella, Danny Seraphine and David "Hawk" Wolinski ("I Know You Want Me (Calle Ocho)"), Darius "Deezle" Harrison and Curtis "Kidd Kidd" Stewart ("Mrs. Officer"), Bruno Mars, Flo Rida, Justin Franks, Kool Kojak, and Philip Lawrence ("Right Round"), Dave Bassett ("Second Chance"), O.A.R.'s Marc Roberge ("Shattered"), and Kuk Harrell ("Single Ladies").

The complete list of winners is available at here.

Other notables in attendance included apl.de.ap of the Black Eyed Peas, American Idol judge Kara DioGuardi, American Idol's David Archuleta and Allison Iraheta, Randy Bachman, Kerry "Krucial" Brothers, Clem Burke of Blondie,Colby O'Donis, John Forté, Toby Gad, O.A.R., Tiësto, Leon Ware, and Butch Walker.

The ASCAP Pop Music Awards kicks off the 5 th annual ASCAP "I Create Music" EXPO, a three-day conference dedicated to songwriting and composing. This year's EXPO features Quincy Jones being interviewed by Ludacris, a conversation between Justin Timberlake and Bill Withers, an interview with John Mayer, and numerous panels, workshops, master classes, One-on-One sessions, song critiquing, networking events, product displays, state-of-the-art technology demonstrations, performances, and more. The EXPO will take place April 22-24, 2010 at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel, in Los Angeles, CA. For more details, please visit www.ascap.com/expo