New York, NY, June 11, 2009: The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) will join the League of American Orchestras in presenting 26 awards to orchestras who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to contemporary composers at a special Awards Presentation being held today (June 11) during the League's 64th Annual Conference in Chicago. The annual ASCAP Adventurous Programming Awards recognize American orchestras whose past season prominently featured music written within the last twenty-five years.

Commenting on the Adventurous Programming Awards, Frances Richard, ASCAP Vice President & Director of Concert Music, said: "For every year of the past 52 years, the members of ASCAP have presented Adventurous Programming Awards to those orchestras whose commitment to the music creators of our time insures the continuity of our living art form for future generations."

The winners are:

John S Edwards Award for Strongest Commitment to New American Music:
Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music
Marin Alsop, Music Director & Conductor

Morton Gould Award for Innovative Programming:
Los Angeles Philharmonic
Esa-Pekka Salonen, Music Director

Leonard Bernstein Award for Educational Programming:
Albany Symphony Orchestra (Albany, NY)
David Alan Miller, Music Director and Conductor

Award for American Programming on Foreign Tours:
Orange County (California) High School of the Arts Symphony Orchestra
Christopher Russell, Music Director

Awards for Programming of Contemporary Music

Expenses More than $14.1 Million:
First Place: Saint Louis Symphony Orchestra / David Robertson, Music Director
Second Place: San Francisco Symphony / Michael Tilson Thomas, Music Director
Third Place: Minnesota Orchestra / Osmo Vanska, Music Director

Expenses of $5.7 Million to $14.1 Million:
First Place: The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra
Second Place: New World Symphony / Michael Tilson Thomas, Artistic Director
Third Place: The Phoenix Symphony / Michael Christie, Virginia G. Piper Music Director

Expenses of $1.8 Million to $5.7 Million:
First Place: South Dakota Symphony Orchestra / Maestro Delta David Gier, Music Director
Second Place: Vermont Symphony Orchestra / Jamie Laredo, Music Director
Third Place: Brooklyn Philharmonic / Michael Christie, Music Director

Expenses of $470,000 to $1.8 Million:
First Place: American Composers Orchestra / Robert Beaser, Artistic Director; Dennis Russell Davies, Conductor Laureate; Derek Bermel, Music Alive Composer-in-Residence
Second Place: Boston Modern Orchestra Project / Gil Rose, Artistic Director
Third Place: Berkeley Symphony Orchestra / Kent Nagano, Music Director & Conductor

Expenses of $470,000 or less:
First Place: Orchestra 2001 / James Freeman, Artistic Director
Second Place: San Jose Chamber Orchestra / Barbara Day Turner, Music Director/Conductor
Third Place: Albany Symphony Orchestra (Albany, GA) / Claire Fox Hillard, Music Director & Conductor

Collegiate Orchestras:
First Place: Cornell Orchestras / Chris Younghoon Kim, Director of Orchestras
Second Place: Peabody Symphony and Concert Orchestras / Hajime Teri Murai, Director of Orchestral Activities
Third Place: Brown University Orchestra / Paul Phillips, Music Director and Conductor

Youth Orchestras:
First Place: Orange County High School of the Arts Symphony Orchestra / Christopher Russell, Music Director
Second Place: Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestras / Allen Tinkham, Music Director
Third Place: Contemporary Youth Orchestra / Liza Grossman, Executive & Music Director

First Place: Aspen Music Festival and School / David Zinman, Music Director


Established in 1914, ASCAP is the first and leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization (PRO) representing the world's largest repertory totaling over 8.5 million copyrighted musical works of every style and genre from more than 350,000 songwriter, composer and music publisher members. ASCAP has representation arrangements with similar foreign organizations so that the ASCAP repertory is represented in nearly every country around the world where copyright law exists. ASCAP protects the rights of its members and foreign affiliates by licensing the public performances of their copyrighted works and distributing royalties based upon surveyed performances. ASCAP is the only American PRO owned and governed by its writer and publisher members.


Pauline Stack