Awards Celebration Will Also Recognize Recipients of the 2008 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards

New York, NY, April 21, 2008: The ninth annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards will take place on Thursday, May 22, 2008 at The Times Center in New York City. ASCAP member, radio host and performer Peter Schickele will host the invitation-only event, which will recognize the achievements of ASCAP's 2008 Concert Music Honorees who represent the diverse aesthetic spectrum of the concert music world.

Among the evening's presenters will be David Del Tredici, Heather Hitchens, Melinda Wagner, Sebastian Currier, Peter Schickele, James M. Kendrick, Stephen Paulus, Paul Lansky, Doug Wood, Steven Burke, Tania Le´┐Żn, ASCAP's Frances Richard and Cia Toscanini, and special guests.

Those being honored this year are:
John Corigliano: (Aaron Copland Award) In celebration of his 70th year, ASCAP presents the Aaron Copland Award to distinguished member, John Corigliano, winner of the Pulitzer Prize, the Grawemeyer Award, the Academy Award for best film Score, a member of the American Academy of Arts & Letters, mentor, teacher, friend and exemplary musical citizen.

Joseph Jennings: ASCAP celebrates the 30th Anniversary year of Chanticleer by honoring its distinguished member, composer, arranger, Chanticleer Music Director Joseph Jennings, for his dedication to the enrichment of the vocal repertory and his advocacy for the music of our time.

JoAnn Falletta: ASCAP honors JoAnn Falletta, Music Director of the Buffalo Philharmonic and the Virginia Symphony as conductor, communicator, recording artist, audience builder, champion of American composers and distinguished musical citizen, whose career-long advocacy for American composers has made her a leading force for the music of our time.

David Lang: Recipient of the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Music for The Little Match Girl Passion.

Recipients of the 2008 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards will also be presented and congratulated.

The ASCAP Foundation program honors the late Pulitzer Prize-winning composer and former ASCAP Foundation President Morton Gould's lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators. The award-winning composers share prizes of approximately $45,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor, the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger, and grants from The ASCAP Foundation John DeVries, Jack Norworth, Joseph Meyer and Morton Gould Funds. Jack Norworth wrote such standards as "Shine On Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ball Game." The Awards are also sponsored by Sibelius, the music notation software company, which generously awards the recipients with free software.

The 2008 ASCAP composer/judges were: Eve Beglarian, Martin Bresnick, Steven Burke, Sebastian Currier, Kamran Ince, Paul Lansky and Augusta Read Thomas.

The 2008 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards recipients are listed with their current residence, and place of origin: Timothy Andres of New Haven, CT (Palo Alto, CA); Ryan Brown of San Francisco, CA (Upland, CA); Paul Dooley of Ann Arbor, MI (Santa Rosa, CA); Sean Friar of Princeton, NJ (Santa Monica, CA); Judd Greenstein of Brooklyn, NY (New York, NY); Eric Guinivan of Los Angeles, CA (Wilmington, DE); Trevor Gureckis of Astoria, NY (Charleston, SC); Evan Johnson Providence, RI (Washington, DC); Elizabeth A. Kelly of Rochester, NY (New York, NY); Martin Kennedy of St. Louis, MO (Wakefield, England); Angel Lam of New Haven, CT (Hong Kong, China); Wei-Chieh Lin of New York, NY (Taichung, Taiwan); Jimmy López of Emeryville, CA (Lima, Peru); Paula Matthusen of Brooklyn, NY (Tempe, AZ); Missy Mazzoli of Brooklyn, NY (Abington, PA); Eric Nathan of Larchmont, NY (New York, NY); Douglas Pew of Erlanger, KY (Redwood City, CA); Chris Rogerson of Philadelphia, PA (Buffalo, NY); Kenneth David Stewart of Houston, TX (Carrolton, TX); John Supko of Centreville, VA (Valley Stream, NY); Zachary Wadsworth of Ithaca, NY (Buffalo, NY); Daniel Wohl of New York, NY (Paris, France);and Cynthia Wong of New York, NY (Schenectady, NY).

The youngest recipients range in age from 6 to 18 and are listed by state of residence: Emily Bear, age 6 (IL); Yuri Boguinia, age 16 (CO); Peng-Peng Gong, age 15 (NY) Andrew Hsu, age 13 (CA); Jane Lange, age 9 (CA); Thomas Reeves, age 13 (NY); Natasha Sinha, age 17 (MA); Conrad Tao, age 13 (NY); and Siddarth Viswanathan, age 15 (NJ).

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Lembit Beecher of Ann Arbor, MI (Santa Cruz, CA); Taylan Cihan of Memphis, TN (Istanbul, Turkey); Daniel Thomas Davis of Ann Arbor, MI (Waxhaw, NC); Evan Fein of New York, NY (Cleveland, OH); Takuma Itoh of Ann Arbor, MI (Hiratsuka, Japan); Alex Kotch of Durham, NC (Chapel Hill, NC); Matti Kovler of Boston, MA (Jerusalem, Israel); Clint Needham of Bloomington, IN (Texarkana, TX); Paul Swartzel of Durham, NC (Raleigh, NC); and Dan Visconti of Arlington, VA (La Grange, IL).

In the youngest category, the following composers received Honorable Mention: Anderson F. Alden, age 16 (CA); Preben Antonsen, age 16 (WA); Eleanor Bragg, age 11 (MA); Holly Druckman, age 18 (NY); Roy Femenella, age 14 (NY); Solomon Hoffman, age 15 (NY); Ryan Korell, age 17 (IL); Dylan Mattingly, age 17 (CA); Vartan Simonian, age 13 (CA) Timothy Woos, age 15 (VT); and Yan Zhu, age16 (MO).

About The ASCAP Foundation:
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.

About ASCAP:
Established in 1914, ASCAP is the first and leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization representing the world's largest repertory totaling over 8.5 million copyrighted musical works of every style and genre from more than 315,000 songwriter, composer and music publisher members. ASCAP has representation arrangements with over 90 music rights organizations such that the ASCAP repertory is represented in nearly every country around the world. ASCAP protects the rights of its members and foreign affiliates by licensing the public performances of their copyrighted works and distributing royalties based upon surveyed performances. ASCAP is the only American Performing Rights Organization owned and governed by its writer and publisher members.


Pauline Stack