March 28, 2008

The ASCAP Foundation Names Recipients of the 2008 Morton Gould Young Composer Awards

New York, NY, March 28, 2008: ASCAP Foundation President Marilyn Bergman has announced the recipients of the 2008 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. The young composers will be recognized at the 9th Annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards at The Times Center in New York on May 22, 2008.

Congratulating the Award recipients, Marilyn Bergman said, "The Morton Gould Awards recognize and encourage talented young creators of Concert Music. We congratulate the gifted young composer winners who were selected from nearly 600 submissions, by our dedicated ASCAP composer/judges. This year, there are 32 recipients ranging in age from 6 to 30. These talented young people represent the bright future of American Concert Music."

Established in 1979, with funding from the Jack and Amy Norworth Memorial Fund , The ASCAP Foundation Young Composer Awards program grants cash prizes to young Concert Music composers up to 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition. These composers may be American citizens, permanent residents, or students possessing US Student Visas.

Morton Gould, a Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, served as President of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 – 1994. Gould, an eminent and versatile American composer, was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. To honor Gould's lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators, the annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to his memory, following his death in 1996.

The award-winning composers share prizes of approximately $45,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor, the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger, and grants from The ASCAP Foundation John DeVries, Jack Norworth, Joseph Meyer and Morton Gould Funds. Jack Norworth wrote such standards as "Shine On Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame." The Awards are also sponsored by Sibelius, the music notation software company, which generously awards the recipients with free software.

The 2008 Morton Gould Young Composer Awards recipients are listed with their current residence, and place of origin: Timothy Andres of New Haven, CT (Palo Alto, CA); Ryan Brown of San Francisco, CA (Upland, CA); Paul Dooley of Ann Arbor, MI (Santa Rosa, CA); Sean Friar of Princeton, NJ (Santa Monica, CA); Judd Greenstein of Brooklyn, NY (New York, NY); Eric Guinivan of Los Angeles, CA (Wilmington, DE); Trevor Gureckis of Astoria, NY (Charleston, SC); Evan Johnson Providence, RI (Washington, DC); Elizabeth A. Kelly of Rochester, NY (New York, NY); Martin Kennedy of St. Louis, MO (Wakefield, England); Angel Lam of New Haven, CT (Hong Kong, China); Wei-Chieh Lin of New York, NY (Taichung, Taiwan); Javier Jimmy Lopez of Emeryville, CA (Lima, Peru); Paula Matthusen of Brooklyn, NY (Tempe, AZ); Missy Mazzoli of Brooklyn, NY (Abington, PA); Eric Nathan of Larchmont, NY (New York, NY); Douglas Pew of Erlanger, KY (Redwood City, CA); Chris Rogerson of Philadelphia, PA (Buffalo, NY); Kenneth David Stewart of Houston, TX (Carrolton, TX); John Supko of Centreville, VA (Valley Stream, NY); Zachary Wadsworth of Ithaca, NY (Buffalo, NY); Daniel Wohl of New York, NY (Paris, France);and Cynthia Wong of New York, NY (Schenectady, NY).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation Composer Awards recipients range in age from 6 to 18 and are listed by state of residence: Emily Bear, age 6 (IL); Yuri Boguinia, age 16 (CO); Peng-Peng Gong, age 15 (NY) Andrew Hsu, age 13 (CA); Jane Lange, age 9 (CA); Thomas Reeves, age 13 (NY); Natasha Sinha, age 17 (MA); Conrad Tao, age 13 (NY); and Siddarth Viswanathan, age 15 (NJ).

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Lembit Beecher of Ann Arbor, MI (Santa Cruz, CA); Taylan Cihan of Memphis, TN (Istanbul, Turkey); Daniel Thomas Davis of Ann Arbor, MI (Waxhaw, NC); Evan Fein of New York, NY (Cleveland, OH); Takuma Itoh of Ann Arbor, MI (Hiratsuka, Japan); Alex Kotch of Durham, NC (Chapel Hill, NC); Matti Kovler of Boston, MA (Jerusalem, Israel); Clint Needham of Bloomington, IN (Texarkana, TX); Paul Swartzel of Durham, NC (Raleigh, NC); and Dan Visconti of Arlington, VA (La Grange, IL).

In the youngest category: Anderson F. Alden, age 16 (CA); Preben Antonsen, age 16 (WA); Eleanor Bragg, age 11 (MA); Holly Druckman, age 18 (NY); Roy Femenella, age 14 (NY); Solomon Hoffman, age 15 (NY); Ryan Korell, age 17 (IL); Dylan Mattingly, age 17 (CA); Vartan Simonian, age 13 (CA) Timothy Woos, age 15 (VT); and Yan Zhu, age16 (MO) received Honorable Mention.

The ASCAP composer/judges were: Eve Beglarian, Martin Bresnick, Steven Burke, Sebastian Currier, Kamran Ince, Paul Lansky and Augusta Read Thomas.

About The ASCAP Foundation:
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.


Pauline Stack