April 12, 2007

The ASCAP Foundation Names Recipients of the 2007 Morton Gould Young Composer Awards

New York, NY, April 12, 2007: ASCAP Foundation President Marilyn Bergman has announced the recipients of the 2007 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards. The young composers will be recognized at the 8th Annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards at Lincoln Center's Walter Reade Theater in New York on May 24, 2007.

Congratulating the Award recipients, Marilyn Bergman said, "The Morton Gould Awards program encourages talented young creators of concert music. We congratulate the gifted young composer winners who were selected from amongst the 601 submissions, and thank our panel of dedicated ASCAP composer/judges. This year, there are 36 recipients ranging in age from 12 to 30. These talented young people represent the bright future of American Concert Music."

Established in 1979, with funding from the Jack and Amy Norworth Memorial Fund , The ASCAP Foundation Young Composer Awards program grants cash prizes to young Concert Music composers up to 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition. These composers may be American citizens, permanent residents, or students possessing US Student Visas.

Morton Gould, a Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, served as President of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 - 1994. Gould, an eminent and versatile American composer, was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was only six years of age. To honor Gould's lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators, the annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to his memory, following his death in 1996.

The award-winning composers share prizes of approximately $45,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor, the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger, and grants from the DeVries, Norworth and Morton Gould Funds. Jack Norworth wrote such standards as "Shine On Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame." The Awards are also sponsored by Sibelius, the music notation software company, which generously awards the winners with free software.

The 2007 Morton Gould Young Composer recipients are listed with their current residence, and place of origin: Mason Bates of Oakland, CA (Philadelphia, PA); William David Cooper of New York, NY (Rocky Mount, NC); Anthony Cheung of New York, NY (San Francisco, CA); Jacob Cooper of New Haven, CT (Hastings-on-Hudson, NY); Christopher Dietz of Ann Arbor, MI (Chicago, IL); Michael Early of Princeton, NJ (Washington, DC); Reena Esmail of New York, NY (Chicago, IL); Sean Friar of Pacific Palisades, CA (Santa Monica, CA); Ryan Gallagher of New York, NY (Wooster, OH); Cory Hibbs of Baltimore, MD (San Diego, CA); Takuma Itoh of Ann Arbor, MI (Hiratsuka, Japan); Angel Lam of Baltimore, MD (Hong Kong, China); Xinyan Li of Kansas City, MO (HeiLong Jiang, China); Eric Lindsay of Los Angeles, CA (Santa Cruz, CA); Eli Marshall of Freedom, ME (Waterville, ME); Missy Mazzoli of Brooklyn, NY (Abington, PA); Clint Needham of Bloomington, IN (Texarkana, TX); Adam Schoenberg of New York, NY (Northampton, MA); Zhou Tian of New York, NY (Hangzhou, China); Zachary Wadsworth of Richmond, VA or New Haven, CT (Buffalo, NY); Derrick Wang of New Haven, CT (Baltimore, MD); Jie Wang of New York, NY (Shanghai, China); and Xi Wang of Ithaca, NY (China).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer winners range in age from12 to 18 and are listed by state of residence: Kit Armstrong, age 14 (CA); Anderson F. Alden, age 15 (CA); Tim Callobre , age 13 (CA); Anthony Duarte, age 16 (MI); Max Grafe, age 18 (NY); Gabrielle Haigh , age 14 (OH); Sunbin Kim, age 17 (NJ); Jeremiah Klarman, age 14 (MA); Elizabeth Ogonek, age 17 (NJ); Edward Poll, age 18 (PA); Armand Ranjbaran, age 17 (NY); Thomas Reeves, age 12 (NY); and Conrad Tao, age 12 (NY).

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Evan Fein of Richmond Heights, OH (Cleveland, OH); Michael Gilbertson of New York, NY (Dubuque, IA); Robert Honstein of Austin, TX (Syracuse, NY); Jenny Olivia Johnson of New York, NY (Santa Monica, CA); J. Benjamin Jones of Eugene, OR (Farmington, NM); Martin Kennedy of St. Louis, MO (Wakefield, England); Reinaldo Moya of Gaithersburg, MD (Caracas, Venezuela); Edward Niedermaier of Bloomington, IN (Annapolis, MD); Thomas Osborne of Honolulu, HI (Louisville, KY); Scott Petersen of Rochester, NY (Omaha, NE); Yevgeniy Sharlat of Austin, TX (Moscow, Russia); Christopher Trapani of Paris France (New Orleans, LA) and Daniel Wohl of Ann Arbor, MI (Paris, France).

In the youngest category, Peng Peng, age 14 (NY); Daniel Haldar, age 15 (OH) and Timothy Woos, age 14 (VT) received Honorable Mention.

The ASCAP composer/judges were: Samuel Adler, Kathryn Alexander, Derek Bermel, Chen Yi, Sebastian Currier, Charles Fussell, and Christopher Theofanidis.

Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org