February 07, 2007

2007 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award Recipients Announced

Honorees to Be Recognized at ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame Ceremonies
on June 1 in NYC

New York, NY, February 7, 2007: ASCAP Foundation President Marilyn Bergman has announced the recipients of the 2007 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards. This program, established in 2002, was created to encourage gifted jazz composers throughout the United States. The recipients, who range in age from 12 to 29, are selected through a juried national competition. They receive cash awards and will be recognized at the annual ASCAP Jazz Wall event, which will take place in the Allen Room of the Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City on June 1, 2007.

Commenting on the awards, Marilyn Bergman said, "The young jazz creators recognized through this program represent the future of this uniquely American art form. We congratulate the recipients and extend thanks to the dedicated panel of ASCAP composers who selected the honorees."

The Young Jazz Composer Awards are in their second year of sponsorship by Gibson Foundation, the philanthropic arm of musical giant Gibson Guitar Corp., established to expand the company's charitable activities. The Gibson Foundation supports The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards in fulfillment of its commitment to educational excellence through music and the arts.

This year’s ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award recipients, ages 18-29, are: Fabian Almazan, 22 (New York, NY), Patrick Cornelius, 28 (Astoria, NY), George Dulin, 28 (New York, NY), Morgan Jones, 19 (Los Angeles, CA), Ross LaFleur, 25 (Rochester, NY), Pascal Le Boeuf, 20 (Santa Cruz, CA), Remy Le Boeuf, 20 (Santa Cruz, CA), Bob Reynolds, 29 (Astoria, NY), Joshua Richman, 20 (Hatfield, PA), Robert Rodriguez, 29 (New York, NY), Sherisse Rogers, 28 (Brooklyn, NY), Nikos Syropoulos, 18 (Wynnewood, PA), Manuel Valera, 26 (Brooklyn, NY), Joshua Vande Hey, 29 (Leicestershire, UK) , and Ezra Weiss, 28 (Scottsdale, AZ) .

The youngest ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composers, ages 12-17, are: Lee Forest Dynes, 17 (OH), Grace Kelly, 14, (MA), Jimmy Macbride, 15, (CT), Chase Morrin, 12 , (CA), Matt Savage, 14 , (NH), Jon Snell 15, (IA), Mark Steinert, 17 , (VA), and Ted Taforo, 16 (CA).

Composers receiving Honorable Mention are: Jordan Baker, 17, (LA), Alexander A. Brown, 19 (Jamaica Plain, MA), Michael Dease, 24 (New York, NY), Ethan Herr, 28 (North Haledon, NJ), Eric Hirsh, 22 (Durham, NC), Randy Ingram, 28 (Brooklyn, NY), Stefan Schulze, 27 (New York, NY), and Jaleel Shaw, 28 (Paterson, NJ).

The ASCAP composer/judges for 2007 were Shelly Berg, John Fedchock and Wycliffe Gordon.

About ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States. www.ascapfoundation.org