Philip Glass, James DePreist, Matt Haimovitz, Alarm Will Sound
and Recipients of the 2006 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould
Young Composer Awards Honored at 7th Annual ASCAP Concert
Music Awards in New York City

New York, NY, May 26, 2006: The seventh annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards were presented on May 25, 2006 at a ceremony and reception held at Lincoln Center's Walter Reade Theater in New York City. ASCAP composer member, radio host and performer Peter Schickele hosted the invitation-only event, which recognized the achievements of ASCAP's 2006 Concert Music Honorees who represent the diverse aesthetic spectrum of the concert music world. Those being honored by ASCAP this year were:

Philip Glass (Victor Herbert Award): Visionary, creative pioneer of works for opera, orchestra, chamber ensemble, dance, theater and film, whose leadership, generous spirit and musical citizenship has enriched and ennobled the field of Concert Music.

James DePreist: Conductor, communicator, recording artist, audience builder, champion of American composers and distinguished musical citizen, whose career-long advocacy for American composers has made him a leading force for the music of our time.

Matt Haimovitz: Performer/composer, for taking his brilliant and passionate performances to audiences wherever they assemble to enjoy their freedom and lift their spirits.

Alarm Will Sound: For the virtuosity, passion and commitment with which they perform and champion the repertory for the 21st century.

The 2006 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Award recipients were also presented and congratulated.

Among the evening's presenters were ASCAP Board Member Stephen Paulus, John Corigliano, Jennifer Higdon, Meredith Monk, Peter Schickele, Christopher Theofanidis, Melinda Wagner and ASCAP's Frances Richard and Cia Toscanini.

The ASCAP Foundation program honors the late Pulitzer Prize-winning composer and former ASCAP Foundation President Morton Gould's lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators. The winning composers share prizes of approximately $40,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, honoring the distinguished jurist who served for twenty-eight years as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor, the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger, and grants from the DeVries, Norworth and Morton Gould Funds. Sibelius, the music notation software company, which generously provides the winners with free software, also sponsors the Awards. The 2006 ASCAP composer/judges were Eve Beglarian; Sebastian Currier; Charles Fussell; Marc Mellits; Alvin Singleton; Christopher Theofanidis and Randall Woolf.

The 2006 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer recipients are listed with their current residence, and place of origin: Athena Adamopoulos of Cambridge, MA (New York, NY); Clarice Assad of New York, NY (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil); Juhi Bansal of Pasadena, CA (Chandigarh, India); Mason Bates of Oakland, CA (Philadelphia, PA); Anthony Cheung of New York, NY (San Francisco, CA); James M. David of Tallahassee, FL (Cairo GA); Dan Forrest of Ottawa, KS (Elmira, NY); Ryan Gallagher of New York, NY (Wooster, OH); Chris Gendall of Ithaca, NY (Hamilton, New Zealand); Aaron Grad of Brooklyn, NY (Alexandria, VA); Brian Herrington of Conroe, TX (Beaumont, TX); Robert Honstein of Austin, TX (Syracuse, NY); Hu Xiao-ou of Kansas City, MO (Sichuan, China); Jenny Olivia Johnson of New York, NY (Santa Monica, CA); Daniel Kellogg of Erie, CO (Norwalk, CT); David T. Little of Princeton, NJ (Newton, NJ); Ryan Malone of Bloomfield, NJ (Southold, NY); Andrew Norman of Modesto, CA (Grand Rapids, MI); Joshua Penman of Ann Arbor, MI (Brookline, MA); Philip Rothman of New York, NY (Buffalo, NY); Huang Ruo of New York, NY (Hainan Island, China); Baljinder Singh Sekhon, II of Rochester, NY (Fairfax, VA); Paul Swartzel of Chapel Hill, NC (Raleigh, NC); Spencer Topel of Ithaca, NY (Denver, CO); Christopher Trapani of Paris, France (New Orleans, LA); and Daniel VanHassel of Allston, MA (Canton, OH).

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Eric William Barnum of Mankato, MN (Crookston, MN); Michael Brown of New York, NY (Oceanside, NY); Sebastian Chang of Philadelphia, PA (Mission Viejo, CA); Shawn Crouch of New York, NY (Columbia, MD); Emily Goldman of Ithaca, NY; Vera Ivanova of Rochester, NY (Moscow, Russia); George Lam of Durham, NC (Hong Kong, China); Clint Needham of Bloomington, IN (Texarkana, TX); Yoomi Paick of Bloomington, IN (Seoul, South Korea); Brandon Ridenour of New York, NY; Jonathan Sokol of Allston, MA (Cleveland, OH); and James Woodward of Phoenix, AZ (Panorama City, CA).

The youngest ASCAP Foundation composer winners range in age from 9 to 18 and are listed by state of residence: Preben Antonsen, age 14 (CA); Meade Bernard, age 18 (MD); Eleanor Bragg, age 9 (MA); Roy Femenella, age 11 (NY); Michael Gilbertson, age 18 (IA); Benjamin Goldsmith, age 13 (NY); Peng-Peng Gong, age 13 (NY); Jay Greenberg, age 14 (NY); Gabrielle Haigh, age 13 (OH); Sunbin Kim, age 16 (NJ); Thomas Reeves, age 11 (NY); Vartan Christopher Simonian, age 11 (CA); and Conrad Tao, age 11 (NY).

Alice Hong, age 13 (GA) and Natasha Sinha age 15 (MA) received Honorable Mention.

Click here for more information and coverage on this year's awards.

About The ASCAP Foundation
Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.

Established in 1914, ASCAP is the first and leading U.S. Performing Rights Organization representing the world's largest repertory totaling over 8 million copyrighted musical works of every style and genre from more than 240,000 composer, lyricist and music publisher members. ASCAP also represents the repertories created by the international affiliates of 70 foreign performing rights organizations. ASCAP protects the rights of its members and foreign affiliates by licensing the public performances of their copyrighted works and distributing royalties based upon surveyed performances. ASCAP is the only American Performing Rights Organization owned and governed by its writer and publisher members.