Paul Richards Receives Special Distinction
Tyler White Receives Honorable Mention

010906_nissimNew York, NY, January 9, 2006: The ASCAP Foundation is pleased to announce that Jeffrey Hass has been named the recipient of the 26th Annual ASCAP Foundation Rudolf Nissim Prize. The Prize was awarded for Symphony for Orchestra with Electronics, a 27-minute work in four movements, selected from amongst nearly 250 submissions. Hass will receive a prize of $5,000.

Jeffrey Hass is currently a Professor of Composition at Indiana University, Bloomington, where he serves as the Director of the Center for Electronic and Computer Music (CECM), having previously taught music theory and composition on the faculties of Rutgers University and the Interlochen Center of the Arts. His compositions have been premiered by the Louisville Orchestra, Memphis Symphony and the Concordia Chamber Orchestra and have had performances at Lincoln Center and at national music conferences of the Society of Composers, International Computer Music Conference, International Double Reed Society, SEAMUS and the College Music Society. Hass received a Bachelor of Music from Vassar College, a Master of Music from Rutgers University and a Doctorate from Indiana University. He studied composition with Richard Wilson, Robert Moevs, Frederick Fox, Donald Erb and Bernhard Heiden. His band and orchestral works have won several national competitions and are published by MMB Music Publishers and Ludwig Music Publishers. Recordings of his works have been released by Indiana University Press, Albany Records, Society for Electroacoustic Music in the US (SEAMUS), Arizona University Recordings, and RIAX Records.

The Nissim Jury recognized Paul Richards (Gainesville, FL) for Special Distinction for Music for Midsummer, a 13-minute orchestral work.

The Jury also awarded Tyler White (Lincoln, NE) Honorable Mention for Mystic Trumpeter (Symphony No.2), for Baritone and Orchestra with text by Walt Whitman, duration 22 minutes.

The judges for this year's Nissim Award were: Michael Morgan, Music Director of the Oakland East Bay Symphony, Artistic Director of the Oakland Youth Orchestra, Music Director of the Sacramento Philharmonic, and Artistic Director of Festival Opera in Walnut Creek; Gil Rose, Artistic Director of the Boston Modern Orchestra Project (BMOP); and
Diane Wittry, Music Director of the Allentown Symphony Orchestra and the Norwalk Symphony Orchestra.

The Nissim Prize is funded by The ASCAP Foundation through a bequest of the late Dr. Rudolf Nissim, former head of ASCAP's International Department. Nissim joined the ASCAP staff immediately after emigrating to the United States from Austria in 1940.

The Nissim competition is open to all ASCAP members who compose concert works requiring a conductor that have not been professionally premiered. To encourage the professional premiere of the prize-winning work, ASCAP makes supplementary funds available. For more than twenty-five years, The ASCAP Foundation has been dedicated to nurturing gifted composers, and preserving our musical legacy by serving the entire music community through a variety of educational, professional and humanitarian programs.

Founded in 1975, The ASCAP Foundation is a charitable organization dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging their development through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, awards, recognition and community outreach programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.