January 18, 2005


The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) honored 13 chamber music ensembles, festivals and presenters with plaques and cash awards for their adventurous programming during the 2004 concert season, at Chamber Music America’s Annual Conference held January 13 - 16 at the Westin Hotel in New York City.

ASCAP’s Vice President of Concert Music, Frances Richard, who presented the awards, commented:  “For the eighteenth year ASCAP recognizes those members of Chamber Music America who have demonstrated their commitment to the music of our time, through adventurous programming of works written within the past twenty five years.  These awards are made on behalf of the members of ASCAP, in appreciation for the Ensembles, Presenters and Festivals, whose excellent performances enrich and inspire the continuity and vitality of the great chamber music tradition. “

The ASCAP composers attending the conference were introduced to the conference attendees on Saturday, January 15, at the awards presentation and reception.  The award winners were invited to share their experiences in winning over audiences through their commitment to performing adventurous programs at a special session following the Awards Presentation which was moderated by George Steel, the Director of the Miller Theater at Columbia University in New York.

Self-Presenting Chamber Ensembles - New Music
First Prize:  International Contemporary Ensemble (Chicago, IL)
Second Prize (tie):  Present Music (Milwaukee, WI) and
Second Prize (tie):  San Francisco Contemporary Music Players (San Francisco, CA)

Self-Presenting Chamber Ensembles - Mixed Repertory
First Prize:  Imani Winds (New York, NY)
Second Prize:  Del Sol String Quartet (San Francisco)

Presenting Organization - 10 or more concerts
First Prize:  Fontana Chamber Arts (Kalamazoo, MI)
Second Prize:  Cleveland Museum of Art (Cleveland, OH)

Presenting Organization/Festival - 9 or fewer concerts
First Prize:  The Open Ears Concert Series at Suffolk County Community College (Seldon, NY)
Second Prize:  Composers, Inc. (San Francisco, CA)

Jazz Ensembles
First Prize:  Ben Waltzer Trio (Brooklyn, NY)
Second Prize:  Earth Sounds (New York, NY)

Jazz Presenters
First Prize:  Emit (St. Petersburg, FL)

Special Recognition Award presented to:
The Lied Center of Kansas  (Lawrence, KS)

The ASCAP Adventurous Programming Awards were conceived 18 years ago to encourage ensembles, festivals and presenters to program new works. The ASCAP winners are members of Chamber Music America chosen by a panel selected by CMA.