June 20, 2005


New York, NY, June 20, 2005: The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) honored orchestras demonstrating exceptional commitment to contemporary composers during the American Symphony Orchestra League's (ASOL) National Conference held June 14-18 in Washington, D.C. The annual ASCAP Adventurous Programming Awards recognize American orchestras whose concert programs prominently feature music composed within the last twenty-five years.

A total of 25 awards were presented during a celebration and reception, hosted by ASCAP Member Marvin Hamlisch, held on Friday, June 17 in the International Ballroom at the Hilton Washington. A composer, songwriter and conductor, Hamlisch’s credits include, three Oscars, four Grammys, four Emmys, one Tony, three Golden Globe awards, and the Pulitzer Prize for his groundbreaking show, A Chorus Line. He is currently Principal Pops Conductor of the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington, D.C.

Introducing the Adventurous Programming Awards presentation, Frances Richard, ASCAP's Vice President of Concert Music, said: "2005 marks the 48th year that ASCAP recognizes those members of the American Symphony Orchestra League whose adventurous programming during the past season prominently featured works written within the past twenty five years. ASCAP congratulates those orchestras and their music directors because their performances of the music of our time enriches the repertory, and keeps our great concert music tradition vibrant and alive.”

Richard introduced ASCAP member Leonard Slatkin, Music Director of the National Symphony Orchestra in Washington, D.C., to present the awards. Richard praised Slatkin as an internationally acclaimed conductor of the highest stature, known and admired by audiences around the world for his imaginative programming in concert and recording. "He is the composer’s advocate, their courageous champion, and the perfect choice to present the ASCAP awards," stated Richard.

The complete list of award winners is:

John S. Edwards Award for Strongest Commitment to New American Music
American Composers Orchestra, Steven Sloane, Music Director and Conductor,
Robert Beaser, Artistic Director

Morton Gould Award for Innovative Programming
Boston Symphony Orchestra, James Levine, Music Director

Leonard Bernstein Award for Educational Programming
Minnesota Orchestra, Osmo Vänska, Music Director

Awards for Programming of Contemporary Music

Orchestras with Annual Operating Expenses more than $13.8 Million
First Place: San Francisco Symphony, Michael Tilson Thomas, Music Director
Second Place: Los Angeles Philharmonic, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Music Director
Third Place: St. Paul Chamber Orchestra

Orchestras with Annual Operating Expenses $5.2 - $13.8 Million
First Place: Rochester Philharmonic, Christopher Seaman, Music Director
Second Place: Colorado Symphony Orchestra, Marin Alsop, Music Director Laureate
Third Place: Orange County’s Pacific Symphony, Carl St. Clair, Music Director

Orchestras with Annual Operating Expenses $1.7 - $5.2 Million
First Place: Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Jeffrey Kahane, Music Director
Second Place: Memphis Symphony Orchestra, David Loebel, Music Director and Conductor
Third Place: Dayton Philharmonic Orchestra, Neal Gittleman, Music Director

Orchestras with Annual Operating Expenses $450,000 - $1.7 Million
First Place: Albany Symphony Orchestra, David Alan Miller, Music Director and Conductor
Second Place: Boston Modern Orchestra Project, Gil Rose, Artistic Director
Third Place: Berkeley Symphony Orchestra, Kent Nagano, Music Director and Conductor

Orchestras with Annual Operating Expenses $450,000 or less
First Place: New England Philharmonic, Richard Pittman, Music Director
Second Place: San José Chamber Orchestra, Barbara Day Turner, Music Director and Conductor
Third Place: Plymouth Symphony Orchestra, Nan Harrison Washburn, Music Director and Conductor

Collegiate Orchestras
First Place: Brown University Orchestra, Paul Schuyler Phillips, Music Director and Conductor
Second Place: Lamont Symphony Orchestra, Lawrence Golan, Music Director and Conductor
Third Place: The University of Wyoming Orchestras, Dr. Michael Griffith, Director of Orchestral Activities

Youth Orchestras
First Place: Chicago Youth Symphony Orchestra, Allen Tinkham, Music Director
Second Place: New York Youth Symphony, Paul Haas, Music Director
Third Place: Portland Youth Symphony, Mei-Ann Chen, Conductor and Music Director

Festival Orchestras
First Place: Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music, Marin Alsop, Music Director and Principal Conductor