January 27, 2004


The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) recently honored 19 chamber music ensembles, festivals and presenters for their adventurous programming during the 2003 concert season, at Chamber Music America’s Annual Conference held January 15 - 18 at the Westin Hotel in New York City.

ASCAP’s Vice President of Concert Music, Frances Richard, who presented the awards, commented: “This is the seventeenth year of ASCAP’s collaboration with Chamber Music America to present Adventurous Programming Awards. These awards are made on behalf of the members of ASCAP, in appreciation for the Ensembles, Presenters and Festivals, which feature performances of the music of our time for audiences throughout the United States. With special emphasis upon works written since 1980, we celebrate the exciting and vibrant Chamber Music tradition through adventurous programming.”

The ASCAP composers attending the conference were presented to the conference attendees during a special reception on Friday, January 16. Recipients for the 2003 Season received plaques and cash awards:

First: Moab Music Festival
Second Prize: La Jolla Music Society
Third Prize: Orcas Island Chamber Music Festival

Presenting Organization (10 or more concerts)
First Prize: Los Angeles County Museum of Art
Second Prize: Cornish Music Series
Third Prize: University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Presenting Organization (9 or fewer concerts)
First Prize: Anchorage Concert Association
Second Prize: Cooper Union

Chamber Ensemble (Self-Presenting/ New Music Ensembles)
First Prize: Boston Musica Viva
Second Prize: Seattle Chamber Players
Third Prize: Earplay
                 counter)induction (TIE)

Chamber Ensemble (Self-Presenting/Mixed Repertory Ensemble)
First Prize: Pacific Serenades

Touring Chamber Ensemble (Mixed Repertory)
First Prize: Antares
Second Prize: Corigliano Quartet
Third Prize: Fine Arts Quartet

Touring Chamber Ensemble (New Music)
First Prize: So Percussion Group
Second Prize: Rova Saxophone Quartet

Touring Chamber Ensemble (Jazz)
First Prize: David Ornette Cherry Ensemble

The ASCAP Adventurous Programming Awards were conceived 17 years ago to encourage ensembles, festivals and presenters to program new works. The ASCAP winners are members of Chamber Music America chosen by a panel selected by CMA.

February 2004 marks the 90th anniversary of the founding of ASCAP. As the world’s largest performing rights organization, ASCAP has over 170,000 composer, lyricist and music publisher members representing all genres of music. ASCAP is committed to protecting the rights of its members by licensing and collecting royalties for the public performance of their copyrighted works, and then distributing these fees to the Society’s members based on performances. ASCAP’s Board of Directors is made up solely of writers and publishers, elected by the membership every two years.