November 19, 2002

The ASCAP Foundation Names Winners of the first annual Young Jazz Composer Awards

The ascap foundation logoASCAP Foundation President Marilyn Bergman has announced the winners of the first annual ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards.

Announcing the awards, Marilyn Bergman said, “The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards were created to encourage gifted American jazz composers to create new works. Composers from throughout the United States ranging in age from 12 to 30 competed for the cash awards. The young talents nurtured by this program represent the future of this uniquely American art form. We congratulate the recipients and extend thanks to the dedicated panel of ASCAP composers who selected the winners.”

Established in 2002, this first annual ASCAP Foundation program recognizes composers under 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition.

The 2002 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award recipients are:

Quamon Fowler, 22, Ft. Worth, TX; Maxwell Snyder, 25, Mooresville, NC; Sherisse Rogers, 24, Long Island City, NY; Brian Van Arsdale, 23, Roswell, GA; Ben Wendel, 26, Santa Monica, CA ; Greg Reitan, 29, Los Angeles, CA; Ez Weiss, 23, Portland, OR; Maurice Brown, 21, Ashland, IL; Bob Reynolds, 25, Astoria, NY; Javier Arau, 27, Brooklyn, NY; Scott Routenberg, 23, Roswell, GA; Gordon Haab III, 26, Los Angeles, CA; Jeremy Siskind, 16, Irvine, CA; Jeremy Pelt, 26, New York, NY; Nicholas Urie, 17, Santa Ana, CA; and Ross Garren, 17, Carmel, CA.

The following composers were recognized with Honorable Mention:

Dustin Drews, 23, Miami, FL; Miguel Zenon, 25, New York, NY; David Stansbury, 22, New York, NY; Jason Goldman, 27, Glendale, CA; Mark Lemstrom, 29, Milpitas, CA; Hamilton Hayes, 25, Dallas, TX; Colton Weatherston, 29, Detroit, MI; Irvin Mayfield, 24, New Orleans, LA; Pascal Le Boeuf, 16, Santa Cruz, CA; Michael Mc Mahon Webb, 16, Glen Mills, PA; and Thomas Cole Gardner, 16, Washington, DC.

The ASCAP composer/judges for the 2002 competition were: Cecil Bridgewater, Maria Schneider and Billy Harper.

The ASCAP Foundation supports the American composer and the development of American music through educational programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants to young composers, music education programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The ASCAP Foundation is supported by contributions from ASCAP members and music lovers throughout the United States.

Established in 1914, ASCAP is the world's largest performing right organization, with over 135,000 composer, lyricist and music publisher members. ASCAP is committed to protecting the rights of its members by licensing and collecting royalties for the public performance of their copyrighted works, and then distributing these fees to the Society's members based on performances. ASCAP's repertory spans the entire spectrum of music -- from pop to symphonic, rock to gospel, Latin to country to jazz, rhythm and blues, theater, film and television music. ASCAP's Board of Directors is made up solely of writers and publishers, elected by the membership.