May 02, 2002

The ASCAP Foundation Names Winners
of the 2002 Morton Gould Young Composer Awards

Honorees to be Cited at Third Annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards Event in NYC, Peter Schickele to Host

ascap foundation

ASCAP Foundation President Marilyn Bergman has announced the winners of the 2002 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards.

Congratulating the award recipients, Marilyn Bergman said, "The Morton Gould Young Composer Awards identify and encourage gifted young composers. This year, our winners range from 9 years of age to 30. These young talents represent the future of American concert music. We congratulate the recipients and extend thanks to the dedicated panel of ASCAP composers who selected the 29 winners from amongst 450 submissions."

Established in 1979, this ASCAP Foundation program recognizes composers under 30 years of age whose works are selected through a juried national competition. Morton Gould, a Pulitzer Prize-winning composer, served as President of ASCAP and The ASCAP Foundation from 1986 – 1994. He was an eminent and versatile American composer, and was a child prodigy whose first composition was published by G. Schirmer when he was just six years of age. To honor Gould’s lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators, the annual ASCAP Foundation Young Composer program was dedicated to his memory, following his death in 1996. The winning composers share prizes of over $30,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, honoring the distinguished jurist who served for twenty-eight years as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor.

The 2002 Winners will be welcomed to the ASCAP family and presented at the third annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards, May 23rd at the Walter Reade Theatre at Lincoln Center in New York. ASCAP’s Concert Music Honorees will include:

Gerard Schwarz, Music Director of the Seattle Symphony and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, champion of American composers and the music of our time; Peter Schickele, composer; Bright Sheng, 2001 MacArthur Fellowship; Henry Brant, 2002 Pulitzer Prize for Composition; Justin Davidson (ASCAP Concert Composer) 2002 Pulitzer Prize for Criticsm; and the American Composers Orchestra for its 25 Years of Service to the music of our time.

The 2002 Morton Gould Young Composer Awards recipients are: Mason Bates of Oakland, CA; Robert L. Bennett, Jr. of Burbank, CA; Tzu – Ling Sarana Chou of Taichung, Taiwan; Reena Esmail of Los Angeles, CA; Gabriela Frank of Berkeley, CA; Stefan Freund of Bloomington, IN; Vivian Fung of New York, NY; Yotam Haber of Haifa, Israel; Matthew Kajcienski of New York, NY; Martin Kennedy of Tuscaloosa, AL; Anthony Lanman of Bloomington, IN; Damon Lee of Lansing, MI; Jookang Lee of Seoul, Korea; Paola Prestini of Trento, Italy; Adam Roberts of Columbus, OH; Philip Rothman of Buffalo, NY; Huang Ruo of Hai Nan Island, China; Matthew Van Brink of East Northport, NY; Cynthia Lee Wong of Northboro, MA; Cody Westheimer of Santa Barbara, CA; and Wang Xi of Shanghai, China.

The following composers were recognized with Honorable Mention: Kati Agocs of Windsor, Canada; Alan Chan of Kansas City, MO; Ian Corbett of Kansas City, MO; Kenneth Froelich of San Diego, CA; Derek Johnson of Boulder, CO; John Mackey of New York, NY; David Mallamud of Jenkintown, PA; Bear McCreary of Los Angeles, CA; Yevgeniy Sharlat of New Haven, CT; Adam B. Silverman of New York, NY; and Zhou Tian of Shanghai, China.

The ASCAP Foundation has made special Awards for composers age 18 and under: Athena Adamopoulos (age 15) of New York, NY; Preben Antonsen (age 11) of Berkeley, CA; Kit Armstrong (age 10) of Los Angeles, CA; Stephen Cabell, Jr. (age 17) of Owensboro, KY; Julia Scott Carey (age 16) of Wellesley, MA; Kevin Kim (age 12) of Bergen County, New Jersey; Natasha Sinha (age 11) of Milton, MA; and Milena Zhivotovska (age 16) of Kiev, Ukraine.

The following composers received Honorable Mention: Timothy Anders (age 16) of Litchfield County, CT; Nigel Armstrong (age 12) of Sonoma County, CA; Sebastian Chang (age 14) of Orange County, CA; Ann Fontanella (age 13) of West Chester, PA; Anna Lindemann (age 16) of Boulder, CO; Alexander Moran (age 12) of Rockingham, NH; Christopher Shimojima (age 15) of Bergen County, NJ; Jeffrey Stanek (age 18) of Madison, WI; and Zachary Wadsworth (age 18) of Richmond, VA.

The six ASCAP composer/judges for the 2002 competition were: Samuel Adler; Eve Beglarian; Chen Yi; Donald Freund; Roberto Sierra; and Chris Theofanidis.

The ASCAP Foundation is dedicated to supporting American music creators and encouraging the development of American music through music education and talent development programs. Included in these are songwriting workshops, grants, scholarships, music education programs, and public service projects for senior composers and lyricists. The programs of The ASCAP Foundation are supported by contributions from ASCAP members and from music lovers throughout the United States.

Established in 1914, ASCAP is the world’s largest performing right organization with over 130,000 composer, lyricist and music publisher members. ASCAP is committed to protecting the rights of its members by licensing and collecting royalties for the public performance of their copyrighted works, and then distributing these fees to the Society’s members based on performances. ASCAP’s repertory spans the entire spectrum of music – from pop to symphonic, rock to gospel, Latin to country, to jazz, rhythm and blues, theater, film and television music. ASCAP’s Board of Directors is made up solely of writers and publishers elected by the membership.

The ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould
Young Composer Awards