October 31, 2014

Daniel Pemberton Named Discovery of the Year by World Soundtrack Academy

On October 25th, the World Soundtrack Academy announced the winners of the 14th World Soundtrack Awards, the closing event of the 41st Ghent Film Festival.

PRS/ASCAP composer Daniel Pemberton was crowned Discovery of the Year, on the basis of his 2013 scores for Cuban Fury and The Counselor. As is tradition for Discovery of the Year winners, Pemberton will be invited back in 2015 to conduct a suite of his original music.

French composing legend Francis Lai (SACEM/ASCAP) earned a Lifetime Achievement Award during the ceremony. Lai is perhaps best-known for his Oscar-winning score to Love Story, and its theme song “Where Do I Begin?” recorded by Andy Williams in 1970.

The Academy once again offered the public the chance to vote for the Spotify Public Choice Award. The score to Marina by Belgian composer Michelino Bisceglia (SABAM/ASCAP) took home the honor.

After the awards presentation, the Brussels Philharmonic, conducted by maestro Dirk Brossé, played selections from Francis Lai’s extensive body of work. ASCAP composer Dan Romer joined the orchestra on accordion for a performance of “Once There Was a Hushpuppy” from Beasts of the Southern Wild, which earned him and Benh Zeitlin the Discovery of the Year award last year.

Congratulations to all of our 2014 World Soundtrack Awards winners:

Discover of the Year 2014
Daniel Pemberton (PRS) for Cuban Fury & The Counselor
[Read our interview Pemberton about his score to The Counselor]

Lifetime Achievement Award
Francis Lai (SACEM)

Spotify Public Choice
Marina by Michelino Bisceglia (SABAM)

Click here for our full list of nominees for the 2014 World Soundtrack Awards