December 13, 2013

ASCAP Members Selected for 2013 Fromm Music Foundation Commissions

The Board of Directors of the Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard University has announced the names of composers selected to receive 2013 Fromm commissions, and 10 of the 12 selections are members of ASCAP. These commissions represent one of the principal ways that the Fromm Music Foundation seeks to strengthen composition and to bring contemporary concert music closer to the public. In addition to the commissioning award, a subsidy is available for the ensemble performing the premiere of the commissioned work.

2013 Fromm commissions were awarded to Samuel Adler (Perrysburg, Ohio), Kathryn Alexander (Hamden, Connecticut), Christopher Brubeck (Wilton, Connecticut), Ryan Chase (Bloomington, Indiana), Anthony Cheung (San Francisco, California), Sean Friar (Pacific Palisades, California), David Gomper (Iowa City, Iowa), Huck Hodge (Seattle, Washington), Kurt Rohde (San Francisco, California) and Christopher Stark (Ithaca, New York).

The Fromm Foundation is the legacy of Paul Fromm (1906-1987), one of the most significant patrons of contemporary art music in the U.S. in the second half of the 20th century. The Foundation recently marked its sixtieth anniversary, and has been housed at Harvard University since 1972. Since the 1950s, it has commissioned well over 300 new compositions and their performances, and has sponsored hundreds of new music concerts and concert series.

Applications for commissions are reviewed on an annual basis. The annual deadline for proposals is June 1st. Requests for guidelines should be sent to The Fromm Music Foundation at Harvard, Department of Music, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA 02138. For more information, click here.