September 17, 2013

ASCAP/SOCAN Members Earn Majority of CCMA Awards

Sunday, September 8th marked the 31st annual Canadian Country Music Association Awards, held in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada. The final eight CCMA Awards were given out in an exciting televised ceremony live from Rexall Place arena. ASCAP-affiliated SOCAN artists dominated the night, taking home seven of the nine major awards.

Hit songwriter/producer Gord Bamford headed into this year’sCountry Music Week with an impressive seven nominations. Bamford picked up three 2013 CCMA Awards for Album of the Year, Single of the Year, and CMT Video of the Year. In total, Bamford won five CCMA Awards, having shared wins earlier in the week with Ray Stephenson for Songwriter(s) of the Year and with Byron Hill for Record Producer of the Year.

Kira Isabella also came away a winner, taking home top honors for Female Artist of the Year. The Stellas were recognized as Group or Duo of the Year and Terri Clark took home the Fans’ Choice Award.

Many international country music stars performed live at the awards, including ASCAP’s Darius Rucker. Also, as part of the CCMA's Country Music Week, ASCAP songwriters Byron Hill, Carolyn Dawn Johnson, Ian Tyson and Brett Jones participated in The Great Guitar Pull, a Nashville-style songwriters round hosted by ASCAP's Ralph Murphy.

Congratulations to all of ASCAP’s 2013 CCMA Award winners:

Songwriter of the Year
Gord Bamford
Ray Stephenson

Fans’ Choice Award
Terri Clark

Single of the Year
“Leaning On A Lonesome Song” - Gord Bamford

Album of the Year
Is It Friday Yet? – Gord Bamford

CMT Video of the Year
“Leaning On A Lonesome Song” – Gord Bamford

Female Artist of the Year
Kira Isabella

Group or Duo of the Year
The Stellas

Album Design of the Year
Roll - Emerson Drive

Record Producer(s) of the Year
Gord Bamford
Byron Hill