April 27, 2012

ASCAP Members Receive Top Honors at 43rd Annual Dove Awards


ASCAP members scored big at the 43rd Annual GMA Dove Awards, which were held on April 24, 2012, at the historic Fox Theatre in Atlanta, Georgia. Each year the GMA Dove Awards celebrate the best in Gospel and Christian music, featuring performances from select nominees and ASCAP Golden Note honorees Mary Mary.

Laura Story took home the top honor of Song of the Year for “Blessings,” which also won for Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year. Story’s album of the same name won in the Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year category, earning fellow ASCAP member Nathan Nockels his first Dove Award and rounding out Story’s three awards for the night.

Crossover rockers NEEDTOBREATHE reprised their Group of the Year win, along with the Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year honor for their release, The Reckoning. “Slumber” from the same album gave the group its third award of the night for Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year.

San Diego natives Switchfoot took home the Rock Recorded Song of the Year award for “Dark Horses” off their Vice Verses release, which also won Rock Album of the Year.

Krissy Nordhoff landed her first Dove Award in the Worship Song of the Year category for “Your Great Name,” her duet with Michael Neale. Hello Fear also made their first appearance at the Dove Awards this year, receiving honors for Contemporary Gospel Recorded Album of the Year and Contemporary Gospel Album of the Year.

Special Event of the Year winner The Story gave awards to a number of ASCAP artists, including Matthew West, Brandon Heath, Peter Furler, Mandisa, Todd Smith, Michael W. Smith, Jeremy Camp, Matt Hammit, Mac Powell (Third Day), Nichole Nordeman, Amy Grant, Francesca Battistelli, Bernie Herms, and Brown Bannister.

Other ASCAP winners include Selah, Dottie Rambo, Rambo McGuire, Dony McGuire, Denver Bierman, Phil Sillas, David Crowder*Band, Dan Muckala, and Luke Gambill

The Dove Awards represent a wide-array of musical styles ranging from Adult Contemporary, Bluegrass, Country, Gospel, Inspirational, Pop, Rap/Hip-Hop, Rock, Spanish Language, Urban and Worship categories.

The 43rd Annual Dove Awards were hosted by David Mann and Chondra Pierce, and were televised on April 24, 2012. Click here for a complete list of winners.