February 13, 2012

ASCAP Members Win Big at USA Songwriting Competition

USA Songwriting Competition

Nine ASCAP members and international affiliates have won big at the 2011 USA Songwriting Competition. Los Angeles-based songwriter Alexander Cardinale won the top prize in the Pop category and overall second prize at the 16th annual Competition for co-writing the song “Traffic Lights.”

Other ASCAP-licensed winners include:

Orly Forman
“Boy on a Hill”
First Prize, Folk category

Mary Gauthier
Crit Harmon
Ed Romanoff

"Breakfast for One on the 5th of July"
First Prize, Lyrics category

Marcy Marxer
“It’s Line Up Time”
First Prize, Children’s category

Ashleigh Eymann (SOCAN)
“Get Down”
First Prize, Hip-Hop/Rap category

Julie Freundt (APDAYC)
“Loco Amor”
First Prize, Latin category

Simon Spire (APRA)
“A Four-Letter Word”
First Prize, Rock/Alternative category

Yasutaka Yashioka (JASRAC)
“Good-bye My Island”
First Prize, Instrumental category

The USA Songwriting Competition has a long history of spotlighting ASCAP members who go on to successful music careers. 2005 First Prize winner (Pop) Kate Voegele was signed to Interscope Records the year after she won, and her winning song “Only Fooling Myself” hit the Top 40 on the Billboard charts; her 2009 album A Fine Mess hit Top 10 on the Billboard 200 charts this past summer. Darrell Scott, winner of the Country category in the 2005 USA Songwriting Competition, had his winning song “We’ve Got Nothing But Love to Prove” cut by Faith Hill.

Entries are being accepted now through May 31, 2012 for the 17th annual USA Songwriting Competition. Entrants stand to win a grand prize of over $50,000 in cash and music gear. All winning songs will receive airplay on the nationally syndicated radio program “Acoustic Café” as well as Sirius XM Satellite Radio. Songs may be entered in 15 different categories including Pop, Rock/Alternative, R&B and Country.

For more information, visit: http://www.songwriting.net