April 22, 2009

The ASCAP Pop 2009 Music Awards

Hitmakers in Hollywood

Top Awards Presented to Stargate's Mikkel Eriksen & Tor Hermansen, Jesse McCartney, Ryan Tedder, EMI and Sony/ATV. Ann & Nancy Wilson of Heart, Wyclef Jean and Santigold Receive Special Honors

Pop Music Awards

ASCAP CEO John LoFrumento, ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams, ASCAP Founders Award honorees Nancy Wilson and Ann Wilson and Jerry Cantrell from Alice in Chains

• Click here for complete coverage and more photos of the 2009 Pop Music Awards

More than 600 songwriters, recording artists, industry leaders and members of the music community gathered at the 26th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards on Wednesday, April 22nd at the Renaissance Hollywood Hotel in Hollywood, California to salute the songwriters and publishers behind some of today's most popular music.

Top awards included Songwriter of the Year, presented to Stargate's Mikkel Eriksen & Tor Hermansen; Song of the Year was awarded to "Bleeding Love," written by Jesse McCartney and Ryan Tedder; and Publisher of the Year, a tie between EMI Music Publishing and Sony/ATV Music Publishing.

Special awards were presented to Ann & Nancy Wilson of Heart who were honored with the ASCAP Founders Award, Wyclef Jean who received the ASCAP Creative Voice Award, and Santi White (aka Santigold) who received ASCAP's Vanguard Award. Awards were also presented to the songwriters and publishers of ASCAP's most performed pop songs of 2008.

Newly elected ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams and ASCAP CEO John LoFrumento presented Norwegian songwriters/producers Mikkel Eriksen and Tor Hermansen with ASCAP's Songwriter of the Year award. Collectively known as Stargate, the duo was responsible for penning an impressive six of themost performed songs of the past year: Chris Brown's "With You," Ne-Yo's "Closer" and "Miss Independent," Rihanna's "Don't Stop the Music" and "Take a Bow," and Jordin Sparks's "Tattoo." This is the second time that Stargate have been named Songwriters of the Year -- the hit-making duo picked up the coveted prize at the 2007 ASCAP Awards in London after taking the charts by storm with a string of hits, including the Billboard #1 "So Sick" by Ne-Yo.

The Song of the Year award went to Jesse McCartney and Ryan Tedder for the Grammynominated song "Bleeding Love," performed by British singer Leona Lewis. McCartney and Tedder were on hand to accept their awards, and Tedder along with OneRepublic bandmates also collected Pop Awards for "Apologize" and "Stop and Stare."

The Top 5most performed songs of 2008 (in alpha order) were: "Apologize," written by Ryan Tedder; "Bleeding Love," written by JesseMcCartney and Ryan Tedder; "Love Song," written by Sara Bareilles; "Low," written by Flo-Rida; "No One," written by Kerry "Krucial" Brothers, DJ Dirty Harry and Alicia Keys.

ASCAP Publisher of the Year honors went to both EMI Music Publishing and Sony/ATV Music Publishing, who tied with 20 award-winning songs each. John LoFrumento and Chairman of Paramount Allegra Music and ASCAP Board member Irwin Z. Robinson presented the awards to Roger Faxon, Chairman and CEO of EMI Music Publishing and Martin Bandier, Chairman and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Publishing and their creative teams.

Jerry Cantrell of the influential band Alice in Chains and Paul Williams presented Ann and Nancy Wilson of Heart with ASCAP's Founders Award. During their extraordinary 35-year career, Heart have soldmore than 30million records, had 21 Top 40 hits, sold out arenas worldwide and kicked down barriers that once held back women in Rock & Roll.

ASCAP Senior Vice President of Domestic Membership Randall Grimmett presented Wyclef Jean with ASCAP's Creative Voice Award, which is bestowed upon an ASCAP member or group whose significant career achievements are equally informed by their creative spirit and by their contributions to the role that a creator can play in their community.

Downtown Music Publishing artist Santi White was also honored with ASCAP's Vanguard Award, which recognizes the impact of musical genres that help shape the future of American music.

The awards celebration featured several performances throughout the evening, including those by special honorees Ann & Nancy Wilson and Wyclef Jean. New ASCAP member Natasha Bedingfield performed two songs, including "Pocketful of Sunshine" which earned her co-writer John Shanks a Pop Award. Jesse McCartney sang his hit "Leavin'," which was penned by Corron Cole, Terius "The Dream" Nash and Christopher "Tricky" Stewart. OneRepublic performed their Pop Award-winning hits "Apologize" and "Stop and Stare;" and Jason Reeves andMikal Blue were on stage to sing their award-winner, "Realize" (a hit for Colbie Caillat) with songwriter and American Idol judge Kara DioGuardi, who signed Reeves to Warner Bros. Records.