October 14, 2009


Phil Collins, ASCAP  Senior Vice President, International Roger Greenaway and ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams


Sir Paul McCartney, Coldplay, Calvin Harris, The Ting Tings are honored in the UK

ASCAP honored the top writer and publisher members of PRS for Music - the UK's Performing Right Society, at a ceremony held at The Grosvenor House Hotel in London on Wednesday, October 14, 2009. Hosted by ASCAP Senior Vice President, International, Roger Greenaway, and Vice President, Membership, Seán Devine, the gala dinner and awards presentation honored those writer and publisher members of PRS for Music whose repertory is licensed by ASCAP and was among its most performed works in the U.S. during 2008.

Sir Paul McCartney was named Songwriter of the Year and was recognized for the songs "All You Need Is Love," "Come Together" and "Hello Goodbye." The Song of the Year award went to Coldplay for "Viva La Vida." And Universal Music Publishing earned Publisher of the Year honors for having five of the most-performed winning songs: "Viva La Vida," "Paper Planes," "Mercy, "Sweet Dreams" and "Swagger Like Us."

As part of ASCAP's ongoing commitment to support emerging music creators, Scottish electronic musician, singer-songwriter and producer Calvin Harris was presented with ASCAP's Vanguard Award in recognition of his gold selling debut album, I Created Disco. Indie pop duo The Ting Tings were honored with the ASCAP College Award for their multiplatinum selling debut album, We Started Nothing.

The evening was highlighted by a special performance by ASCAP President and Chairman Paul Williams, who performed a selection of his enduring hits that have earned him the honor of being an Oscar, Grammy and Golden Globe-winning Hall of Fame songwriter. Vocalist Madeline Bell also performed Williams's "Evergreen" and "Rainy Days and Mondays."

Phil Collins collected an award for "In The Air Tonight." This is the 11th time that Collins has been honored for the song, which earned him Song of the Year honors in 1982. Songwriter Steve Booker was on hand to pick up his award for "Mercy," the hit single from Duffy's debut album, Rockferry. Longtime Ozzy Osbourne collaborator Bob Daisley collected an award for "Crazy Train." Jim McCarty and Paul Samwell-Smith of 60s blues-rock band the Yardbirds were honored for their contributions to The Pussycat Dolls' "When I Grow Up." Annie Lennox and Eurythmics partner Dave Stewart were recognized for the ninth time for "Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)," and last year's Songwriter of the Year honoree Dido was honored for the eighth time for the song "Thank You."

Multiple award-winning songwriters included Sir Paul McCartney who earned three awards and receiving two awards each were AC/DC's Brian Johnson, M.I.A., The Clash and U2.

In addition to presenting a total of 21 song awards, honorees in the Film and Television Theme categories included: Craig Armstrong (The Incredible Hulk), Patrick Doyle (Igor and Nim's Island), Joby Talbot (Penelope and Son of Rambow), Adrian Johnston (Brideshead Revisited), Jocelyn Pook (Brick Lane), Paul Englishby (Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day), Cathy Dennis, Julian Gingell and Barry Stone (American Idol), Keith Strachan and Matthew Strachan (Who Wants to Be a Millionaire), Elizabeth Fraser ("Teardrop" from House), Dan McGrath and Josh Phillips (Dancing with the Stars).