April 17, 2007

22nd Annual ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards

Marc Shaiman Receives the Henry Mancini Award at the 22nd Annual ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards


Pictured (l-r): Marissa Jaret Winokur, Rob Reiner, Marilyn Bergman, Marc Shaiman and Billy Crystal.
Photo by Wireimage/A. Wyman

ASCAP presented its Henry Mancini Award to Marc Shaiman at the 22nd Annual ASCAP Film and Television Music Awards on April 17 at the Kodak Theatre in Los Angeles. In addition to honoring Shaiman, ASCAP honored the composers and songwriters of the top box office film music and the most performed television music of 2006. Over 850 members of the music industry attended the invitationonly event, which, along with ASCAP's Pop Music Awards and ASCAP's three-day EXPO in the following days, was featured as part of ASCAP's "I Create Music Week." The Film and TV Music Awards was hosted by ASCAP President and Chairman Marilyn Bergman.

One of the many highlights of the evening was the special tribute to Marc Shaiman who was honored with the ASCAP Henry Mancini Award in recognition of his outstanding achievements and contributions to the music of film and television. Rob Reiner and Billy Crystal joined Marilyn Bergman onstage to present the award to Shaiman. Many other friends and collaborators paid homage by way of video tribute messages, including Sarah Jessica Parker and Matthew Broderick, Nathan Lane, Martin Short and Robin Williams, as well as John Travolta, Michelle Pfeiffer, Queen Latifah, Allison Janney and other cast members of the movie, Hairspray. Broadway actress Marissa Jaret Winokur performed "Good Morning, Baltimore" from the musical, Hairspray, accompanied by Shaiman on piano. Shaiman also performed "Fifty Checks" from his new musical, Catch Me If You Can.

Marc Shaiman has received five Academy Award nominations, a Tony, Grammy and Emmy Award. Irreverent, witty, energetic and optimistic, Shaiman this year completed a dream movie assignment – completing the film adaptation of his own Tony Award-winning musical, Hairspray, which was a smash reworking of John Waters' original film. Though he's best-known for composing scores for mainstream Hollywood comedies – among them Sleepless in Seattle, Sister Act, The Addams Family, Patch Adams, City Slickers, George of the Jungle and In & Out – Shaiman's credits also include science fiction (From the Earth to the Moon for HBO), military drama (A Few Good Men), a baseball film (61* for HBO) and outrageous animation (South Park: Bigger, Longer and Uncut). He has worked frequently in films and TV with Rob Reiner, Billy Crystal and Bette Midler. Shaiman is primarily a composer and lyricist, but has also enjoyed success as an arranger, record producer, music supervisor and actor.

ASCAP's Todd Brabec, Nancy Knutsen, Sue Devine and Mike Todd presented awards in four categories – Most Performed Themes, Most Performed Underscore, Top Television Series, and Top Box Office Films – to several veteran film and television music composers as well as to the best and brightest of a new generation of writers. Those in attendance included John Adair, Erran Baron Cohen (PRS), Joel Beckerman, Sean Callery, Jeff Cardoni, Adam Cohen, Lisa Coleman, Catherine Dennis (PRS), Ramin Djawadi, Rob Duncan, Marc Fantini, Steffan Fantini, Steve Franks, Grant Geissman, Scott Gordon, Alex Greenwald, Andrea Guerra (SIAE), Matthew Hawkins, Reinhold Heil, John Keane, Johnny Klimek, Russ Landau, Michael Levine, Wendy Melvoin, Blake Neely, David Nichtern, John O'Brien, Daniel Pinnella, Douglas Pipes, David Porter, John Powell, Mark Snow, David Vanacore, Franz Vonlichten, Helmut Vonlichten, Mark T Williams, and John Robert Wood. Ginny Mancini collected an award on behalf of her late husband, Henry Mancini, for the original theme to The Pink Panther.

Also in attendance were: actor, director, writer, musician, and composer Christopher Guest; actor, writer, producer Sacha Baron Cohen and actress Isla Fisher; actress Nikki Blonsky, who stars in the new film version of Hairspray, along with the film's director Adam Shankman, producers Craig Zadan and Neil Meron and music supervisor Matt Sullivan; singer/actress Jenifer Lewis; E! Entertainment's Debbie Matenopoulos, director Peyton Reed and TV actress Arlene Sorkin.

View photos and video coverage of this year's Film and Television Music Awards