May 24, 2007

8th Annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards

Imani Winds, Frank J. Oteri, Gil Rose and the Boston Modern Orchestra Project, David Del Tredici and recipients of the 2007 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards are honored in New York


The 2007 Young Composer Award winners with ASCAP's Frances Richard and Toscanini

The eighth annual ASCAP Concert Music Awards were presented on May 24 at a ceremony and reception held at Lincoln Center's Walter Reade Theater in New York City. ASCAP composer member, radio host and performer Peter Schickele hosted the event, which recognized the achievements of ASCAP's 2007 Concert Music Honorees. Those being honored this year were:

• David Del Tredici (Aaron Copland Award): In honor of his 70th birthday for his achievements as creator, teacher, mentor and exemplary musical citizen.

• Frank J. Oteri (Victor Herbert Award): For distinguished service to American music whose vision and courage as composer, journalist, editor, broadcaster and impresario have made him advocate extraordinaire.

• Gil Rose, Founder and Artistic Director, Boston Modern Orchestra Project, whose unique orchestral mission is to perform, commission and record the music of our time.

• Imani Winds: Founded and directed by ASCAP composer/flutist, Valerie Coleman, the Imani Winds repertory is enriched and informed by European, African, Latin American and American music traditions. Celebrating their tenth anniversary, they have enriched the woodwind repertory with the music they perform, commission, and record with virtuosity and passion.

The recipients of the 2007 ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards were also presented and congratulated.

The ASCAP Foundation Morton Gould Young Composer Awards program honors the late Pulitzer Prize-winning composer and former ASCAP Foundation President Morton Gould's lifelong commitment to encouraging young creators. The winning composers share prizes of approximately $45,000, including the Leo Kaplan Award, in memory of the distinguished attorney who served as ASCAP Special Distribution Advisor, the Charlotte V. Bergen Scholarship for a composer 18 years of age or younger, and grants from the DeVries, Norworth and Morton Gould Funds. Jack Norworth wrote such standards as "Shine On Harvest Moon" and "Take Me Out to the Ballgame." The Awards are also sponsored by Sibelius, the music notation software company, which generously awards the winners with free software. The 2007 ASCAP composer/judges were: Samuel Adler, Kathryn Alexander, Derek Bermel, Chen Yi, Sebastian Currier, Charles Fussell and Christopher Theofanidis.

Among the presenters were Steven Burke, Sebastian Currier, Charles Fussell, Tania Leon, Stephen Paulus, Greg Sandow, Peter Schickele, Augusta Read Thomas, Melinda Wagner and ASCAP's Frances Richard and Cia Toscanini.

View photo coverage of this year's Concert Music Awards