June 01, 2007

Jazz Giants

Music greats Stéphane Grappelli, James P. Johnson, Django Reinhardt and living legends Louie Bellson, Dave Frishberg, and Terry Gibbs added to ASCAP's Jazz Wall of Fame


Pictured (l-r) are: ASCAP President & Chairman Marilyn Bergman, Tony Bennett's wife Susan Crowe, vocal great Tony Bennett, drummer Louie Bellson, vibes player Terry Gibbs, lyricist Alan Bergman, bassist John Clayton and pianist-songwriter Dave Frishberg. Bellson, Gibbs and Frishberg were all honored as ASCAP Jazz Living Legends. Alan Bergman and Clayton serve on the ASCAP Jazz Wall panel.

A new group of ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame inductees were added during the June 1st Jazz at Lincoln Center event in New York. ASCAP President and Chairman Marilyn Bergman hosted the night, which saw the posthumous additions of Stéphane Grappelli, James P. Johnson, and Django Reinhardt to the wall, as well as Living Legends Louie Bellson, Dave Frishberg, and Terry Gibbs. Participating in the event as presenters and/or performers were Bellson, Frishberg, Gibbs, Rufus Reid, Gene Bertoncini, Eric Reed, John Clayton, Joseph Alessi, and Aaron Weinstein.

The ASCAP Foundation Vanguard Award was presented to acclaimed trombonist/composer Wycliffe Gordon for his innovative musical activity as a composer, instrumentalist, performer, and educator in the field of Jazz. The reception also honored the recipients of the 2007 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards, who are less than 30 years of age, and whose works are selected through a national competition. The Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards are currently in their second year of sponsorship by the Gibson Foundation, the philanthropic arm of music giant Gibson Guitar Corp.