October 24, 2007

Honored: Stepping Out

MICKEY CARROLL with the Arts for Complete Education/Florida Alliance for the Arts Education award for his Mother J musical based on his overall concern for the issues facing young people, families and community.

JAMES CITKOVIC as a finalist for an Award of Excellence from Goodnight Kiss Music for outstanding professional service to musicians. Citkovic, a successful manager and publisher, is President of Countdown Entertainment, Inc. and Hire a Consultant.

DARIA, multi-cultural performer and children's recording artist, with the 2007 Pennsylvania Council on the Arts Commentary Award.

THE DIVYS, a Philadelphia duo, with Best Electronic Song by the John Lennon Songwriting Contest for "Freddie, Are You Single?" - the club mix version. The Divys also won Song of the Month from the Song of the Year organization. Their song "Mirror Queen" is the theme song to the Philadelphia talk show, In Bed With Butch.

BRIAN EMMEL for placing a song in the top five in the Song of the Year contest and another song in the top 50. He also received an honorable mention in the John Lennon Songwriting Contest.

SHARON FARBER'S "The Third Mother/Mothers' Lament" with the Cincinnati Camerata Compostion Competition's First Prize. The work is an a capella composition, which honors the life of the late journalist, Daniel Pearl. As part of the prize, the work will be published by Amber Waves Music and performed by Cincinnati Camerata. Farber is on the Film Music Magazine cover, the first woman to grace the cover.

KYLE GANN to be names a 2007 Master Artists-In-Residence at the Atlantic Center for the Arts in New Smyrna Beach, FL.

TODD GOODMAN to be named Resident Composer of the McKeesport Symphony Orchestra, the Beaver Valley Philharmonic and the Lincoln Park Performing Arts Center in Pennsylvania. The composer received commissions from each entity.

SEAN HICKEY to be named Composer-in- Residence with the Metro Chamber Orchestra, a New York ensemble. The MCO will premiere his Concerto for clarinet and string orchestra.

GARAJ MAHAL'S Blueberry Cave was the Best Album - Jam category at the 2007 Independent Music Awards.

STACY GARROP by the Pittsburgh New Music Ensemble (PNME) as the winner of the Harvey Gaul Composition Competition for 2006-2007. The biennial contest, held in honor of the late Pittsburgh composer and conductor, carries with it a $6,000 commission for a new work to be premiered by PNME during its 2008 season.

MONICA HOUGHTON with Composer of the Year by the Ohio Music Teachers Association and will receive a $1,500 commission to write a new work for the 2007 OMTA Annual Convention. Houghton serves on the faculty of the Cleveland Institute of Music and Case Western Reserve University.

GUSTAV HOYER'S orchestral work, The Lion Triumphant, was a part of Masterworks of the New Era, Vol. 2, which won the 2006 Best Classical Album from the Just Plain Folks Music Awards.

YOLANDA JOHNSON with the BETJ Soul Sessions Breakthrough Artist of the Year. The R&B singer/songwriter's song "Individual" was chosen as the theme song for BETJ's Soul Sessions and the music video for the song premiered on the show in February 2007.

GRACE KELLY with a Great American Song Contest award in the Instrumental Category for "Filosphical Flying Fish." The 14 year old is also a recipient of a 2007 ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Award.

MARK KILSTOFTE'S Ballistic Etude No. 3: Panic! as the Prix Henri Selmer Paris in the International Composition for wind ensemble.

THE KNOTZ with Independent Artist Registry 2006-2007 "Indie Award Winner" for Independent Artist of the Year.

SEAN PATRICK MCGRAW'S song "Fiona" from Songs for Saturday Night was selected co-winner of the 2006 Mountain Stage New Song Festival, semi-finalist status at the River Bluff Festival and Best Country Song in the 2006 Independent Music Awards.

DAWN NORFLEET as one of 20 music educators in Los Angeles to receive training to use Jazz at Lincoln Center's "Jazz for Young People" in schools in partnership with the Music Center. Norfleet was a featured artist at the Opening Night Gala for L.A.'s Women's Theater Festival on March 19, 2007.

MICHAEL OLSON'S music on the current season of the popular MTV shows The Real World, The Duel and Road Rules.

FRANK PROTO'S Fiesta Bayou and Kismet as the winning work in the Louisiana Philharmonic Orchestra's first International Composer Competition on October 27, 2006. Proto received a commission to create a short symphonic work referencing jazz and will have the opportunity to write a full orchestral work for the LPO's 2008-2009 season.

FAITH RIVERA'S Suncatcher: Morning Music for the Hip & Sacred with the 2006 Best New Age Album at the Just Plain Folks Music Awards.

BRIAN ROLLAND'S Dreams of Brazil with a nomination for Best Instrumental Album - Acoustic at the highly regarded New Age Reporter Awards.

LANNY SMITH with the Environmental Educator of the Year for North America for his music to inspire millions of children and adults to protect the environment.

ALLISON TARTALIA'S "Spinning Song" with second place in the First Annual Indiegrrrl Songwriting Contest.

ANDERSEN VIANA with two composition prizes at the Concours International de Composition pour Orchestre D'Harmonie in Lambersart, France.

DARCIE WICKNICK and JAMES TOOTLE with a Berklee Alumni Grant and the Massachusetts Industry Committee Award for Community Service for The Boston Hip-Hop Alliance, of which they are two of four co-founders.