March 01, 2006

European Honors

ASCAP honors writers and publishers of the Swedish and Norwegian performing rights societies


Back Row (standing l-r): Daniel Larsson (Murlyn Songs); Christian Wahlberg (Murlyn Songs); writers Pontus Winnberg and Rolf Lovland; Anders Zetterlund (STIM); Martin Ingestrom (Universal Music); Barry Matheson (Continentalmusic); writer Henrik Jonback; Goran Carlsson (STIM), and Hans Desmond (Warner/Chappell)
Front Row (seated l-r): Jonas Wikstrom (Universal Music); writer Christian Karlsson; Sean Devine (ASCAP); Eva Botmar (STIM), and Monica Ekmark (Universal Music).

ASCAP honored writer and publisher members of the Swedish (STIM) and Norwegian (TONO) performing rights societies at a special dinner held at Stockholm's Rival Hotel, in Sweden on November 28, 2005. ASCAP Vice President of Membership Seán Devine presented awards to those writers whose repertory is licensed by ASCAP and was among its most performed works in the U.S. during 2004. Among those being honored were writer Rolf Lovland (TONO) for "You Raise Me Up," published by Universal; writer Andreas Carlsson (STIM) for "Invisible," published by Warner Chappell; and writers Christian Karlsson (STIM), Henrik Jonback (STIM), and Pontus Winnberg (STIM) for "Toxic," published by Murlyn Songs.