May 20, 2003

Elvis Costello Receives Founders Award at 20th Annual Pop Music Awards

Nelly, Seven Named Songwriters of the Year

Puddle of Mudd's "Blurry" Named Song of the Year

EMI Music Publishing Takes Publisher of the Year Honors


Burt Bacharach, Elvis Costello and ASCAP President and Chairman Marilyn Bergman.

Elvis Costello, Burt Bacharach, Nelly, Seven, Puddle of Mudd, and Solomon Burke were among the honorees and performers attending the 20th annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards celebration at the Beverly Hilton Hotel on May 20. Other notables in attendance included Stevie Wonder, Diana Krall, Diane Warren, Rick James, Goo Goo Dolls' John Rzeznik, Jewel, No Doubt, Incubus, Harry Shearer, Hal David, Glen Ballard, Charlotte Caffey, The Matrix, Linda Perry, Joe Henry, Jimmy Eat World, Alan Bergman and ASCAP President and Chairman Marilyn Bergman, who hosted the event.

Songwriter Linda Perry performed her Christina Aguilera hit "Beautiful" and picked up an ASCAP Award for her Pink hit, "Get The Party Started."

The evening was highlighted with the presentation of ASCAP's coveted Founders Award to legendary songwriter/ performer, Elvis Costello. A recipient of multiple Grammy Awards, Costello maintains one of the most impressive catalogues in pop music today. Costello's incomparable gifts as a performer and music creator have earned him a recent induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Among Costello's most memorable songs are: "Alison," "Watching the Detectives," "Less Than Zero," "Pump It Up," "Radio Radio," "Everyday I Write the Book," "The Only Flame In Town," "Almost Blue," "Veronica," "Deep Dark Truthful Mirror," "God Give Me Strength" and many others.

ASCAP's Founders Award honors pioneering songwriters who have made exceptional contributions to music. Past Founders Award recipients include James Taylor, Burt Bacharach & Hal David, Stevie Wonder, Tom Waits, Joni Mitchell, Leiber & Stoller, Quincy Jones and Walter Becker and Donald Fagen, to name a few.


Nelly, Stevie Wonder and Seven

Soul music legend Solomon Burke performed as part of ASCAP's special tribute to Costello. ASCAP songwriter and Elvis Costello collaborator Burt Bacharach was on hand to co-present this prestigious award with Academy Award-winning lyricist Marilyn Bergman.

In celebration of Sammy Cahn's 90th birthday, the ASCAP Foundation Sammy Cahn Award, a cash award for promising lyricists selected from participants in ASCAP songwriter workshops, was presented to 26-year-old Josh Ritter. Sammy Cahn's widow Tita Cahn joined Marilyn Bergman in presenting the award.

Sharing the honors for Songwriter of the Year was multi-platinum Hip Hop recording artist and writer Nelly for his winning songs "Dilemma" (Nelly featuring Kelly Rowland) "Hot In Herre" (Nelly) and "Where The Party At" (Jagged Edge featuring Nelly). Co-honoree, Seven, produced eight #1 hit singles in the last year and was honored for "Always On Time" (Ja Rule featuring Ashanti), "Foolish" (Ashanti), and "I'm Real -- Murder Remix" (Jennifer Lopez featuring Ja Rule).

Puddle of Mudd's Wes Scantlin and Doug Ardito, along with co-writer Jimmy Allen, were honored for Song of the Year for their smash hit "Blurry."

Publisher of the Year honors were presented by ASCAP CEO John LoFrumento to EMI Music Publishing for their 23 winning songs: "Can't Get You Out of My Head," "Dilemma," "Don't Let Me Get Me," "Drive," "Drops of Jupiter," "Escape," "Everywhere," "Fallin'," "Foolish," "Girlfriend," "Hella Good," "Here Is Gone," "Hero," "I Need A Girl (Part 1)," "I'm Real -- (Murder Remix)," "Livin' It Up," "One More Day," "Someone To Call My Lover," "Standing Still," "U Don't Have to Call," "U Got It Bad," "What's Going On" and "Where The Party At."

ASCAP Pop Awards were presented to the songwriters and publishers of the most performed songs in the ASCAP repertory for the 2002 ASCAP survey year (October 1, 2001 through September 30, 2002).

Pop Music Awards Photos